Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

No Retreat! The North African Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ambush question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Francois-Xavier
Germany
Seeheim-Jugenheim
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What happens if your opponent attacks you, commits a blitz/shock marker and you then play an ambush(!) action card?
Does the marker get aborted and returned to the player or does it go back to the supply?

Normally that's decided by the attacker's die roll but in this case I'm unsure about the process.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This cannot happen, as the Ambush card is played BEFORE the commitment of the Blitz/Shock marker.

The rules say:

AMBUSH: Play during the Opponent’s Combat
phase before a regular battle (not a Counterblow
or Counterattack): you become the attacker in that
battle, you also get a positive CRT column shift equal
to your own defensive shift terrain bonus (this includes
Boxes and Mines), with a minimum of 1 Column Shift


The card should be played right after the attacker has commited its forces, before the Shock/Blitz or any Combat cards are played.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim K
United States
Palatine
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What if you're ambushing from a mine hex? Are the two strength points from the mine considered part of the new attacker's total?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
htjester wrote:
What if you're ambushing from a mine hex? Are the two strength points from the mine considered part of the new attacker's total?


No.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Razler
msg tools
Does this use up the Attacker's target marker (goes to stock) or is it returned?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
razlerja wrote:
Does this use up the Attacker's target marker (goes to stock) or is it returned?


It does not use up the marker.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.