GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

7,767 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
22 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Kemet» Forums » Rules

Subject: Building pyramid in occupied space rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Roel Janssen
msg tools
Since you can recruit in an enemy occupied city space: Can you also use the raise a pyramid action in an occupied space?
(Creating a new pyramid might give opponent 1 the power to stop opponent 2 from winning)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
John Coltrane - Africa Brass v. 1 & 2
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Retudin2 wrote:
Since you can recruit in an enemy occupied city space: Can you also use the raise a pyramid action in an occupied space?
(Creating a new pyramid might give opponent 1 the power to stop opponent 2 from winning)

The rules say you place a pyramid in a free space, so no, you can't raise a pyramid in an occupied space.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roel Janssen
msg tools
In the side section they indeed mention upgrading from level zero is only allowed in free spaces; but I assumed that free here means not already having a pyramid.
If controlled by an opponent is also not 'free' what about having a troop of your own? Also this speaks explicitly about new pyramids, not about improving an existing one. Is this then disallowed in occupied districts by implication?

Bottom line, I don't agree it is in the rules, although I'll take your answer as the correct resolution.

Thx for answering

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
John Coltrane - Africa Brass v. 1 & 2
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Retudin2 wrote:
In the side section they indeed mention upgrading from level zero is only allowed in free spaces; but I assumed that free here means not already having a pyramid.
If controlled by an opponent is also not 'free' what about having a troop of your own? Also this speaks explicitly about new pyramids, not about improving an existing one. Is this then disallowed in occupied districts by implication?

Bottom line, I don't agree it is in the rules, although I'll take your answer as the correct resolution.

Thx for answering


I think you're right to question my first answer; I don't like it much either. But I just looked again and found something better: the rule for Pyramids (first paragraph on page 2, final sentence):

rules wrote:
Each pyramid must be placed in a different district in the players' city.

(I added the bold for emphasis, but the misplaced apostrophe is exactly how it appears in my copy of the rules.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mase Zedaker
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
The rules of the game don't really address this. I would totally allow a player to upgrade an "occupied" pyramid. It's a weird strategy and interesting choice and I don't see how this would break the game in any way.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.