Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

T.I.M.E Stories» Forums » Rules

Subject: TU question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel B
Sweden
Umeå
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
we didn't make it very far the first run so I'd thought it double check if we did it right,we got player X Z and Y

we get to a new location and spend 1 TU so we all can move to different rooms and explore. Z and X gets nothing while Y gets locked and must use attack to get out. We spend another TU. for her to make here attack while ZX comes to aid. Y fails again s we spend another TU so we all 3 can attack, en then leave the location.


is that, correct? would that cost 4 TU for the above scenario? that's how most of rooms went.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Cooper
United Kingdom
Taunton
Somerset
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
0 TU
Open the location, place your pawns, read the cards, collect any items.

1 TU
Y attempts the test
X and Z move to Y

2 TU
X, Y and Z may attempt the test in any order of their choosing, any agent that hasn't attempted the test may move away if the test is completed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jared Voshall
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
With the exclusion of the first room (where you don't have to spend TU to move to to begin with), you have the correct total, but for the wrong reasons.

Move to the new location: 1-3 TU, generally 2. This includes placing character pawns on the spaces the players want to examine. At this point, player Y becomes locked in a combat scenario.

Action 1: Player Y attempts to complete the fight while players X and Z move in to help. 3 TU total.

Action 2: As mentioned above, any player may now attempt the test. Any that have not acted may now move to a different portion of the room and look at the card there (though not initiate any test at that location). 4 TU.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel B
Sweden
Umeå
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ah right thanks!! we always spent 1 on the first move within the new location too
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tor Sverre Lund
Norway
Trondheim
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Arriving at the very first location and placing pawns to look at different cards, is always free. Any new location you move to costs 1-5 TU (unless a card tells you differently), depending on roll and if you moved from a red location. But placing pawns at the new location does not cost anything extra, so you always get a "free peek" at the new location before deciding to move on or spend TU to move/test/do nothing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel B
Sweden
Umeå
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sorry if I'm daft but need to double check then. I arrive on a location, and check a room card. it contains a locked task. so far 0 TU. next round I roll for the task and fail. that's 1 TU. I try again and succeed and now that's 2 TU?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Cooper
United Kingdom
Taunton
Somerset
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, but try and look at this way round: first spend a TU, then take actions, so in your example, 0 TU, enter the location; spend 1 TU, roll for the task; spend 1 TU, roll again.

Spending the TU allows every agent to take an action, not the other way around ie taking an action does not cost a TU, that could be why you're expending so many TUs. If it helps, as suggested by Paul Grogan, spend a TU, then, after each agent takes an action, flip their pawn upside down to show that they have finished for this TU, flip them back once all agents have finished, ready for the next TU.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Cooper
United Kingdom
Taunton
Somerset
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gawain wrote:
Arriving at the very first location and placing pawns to look at different cards, is always free. Any new location you move to costs 1-5 TU (unless a card tells you differently), depending on roll and if you moved from a red location. But placing pawns at the new location does not cost anything extra, so you always get a "free peek" at the new location before deciding to move on or spend TU to move/test/do nothing.
For the rules as written, it always costs 0 TU to enter a location, moving between locations is the cost on the Time Captain's die. This allows you to move to a new location (roll the Time Captain's die), open the new location, and examine the panorama. If the team enters the location, they do so for 0 TU, otherwise they can close the location and move to a different location (roll the Time Captain's die again).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel B
Sweden
Umeå
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thank you guys very much. think we spent 5-6 TU we shouldn't have then.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Cubberly
United States
Urbana
Illinois
flag msg tools
mb
Another quick question, somewhat related to this topic.

During the action phase, do players need to declare or decide what they want to do before any player has taken their action? For example, player X attempts a test at a location but fails. Can player Y then decide to move to that location, even if they were originally planning on doing something else?

Or another example: Player X and Y are both on a location. Player X's action is to make a test. That test is successful, so now Player Y instead decides to move. If that test failed, could Y instead stay there and participate in that test?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ALeX
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
djc1 wrote:
do players need to declare or decide what they want to do before any player has taken their action?
No. After it's decided that an action will be done, reduce the TU by one. Then a player (chosen at that point) does an action (chosen at that point), that is repeated until every player performed an action.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Cooper
United Kingdom
Taunton
Somerset
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ALeX is correct, which is contrary to the original rules (if that's what you are reading), but has been amended by both the FAQ and v1.1 of the rulebook.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Cubberly
United States
Urbana
Illinois
flag msg tools
mb
Awesome, thanks! That clarifies it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.