$20.00
$15.00
$5.00
Lynette
United States
Richland
Washington
flag msg tools
Yep, I am a girl Scientist. Come for the breasts; Stay for the brains!
badge
For as long as I shall live I will testify to love; I'll be a witness in the silences when words are not enough.
mbmbmbmbmb
So I guess this is what Jeremy calls a Humblebrag, but I am so joyful today about the news that I had to share it anyway.

So 15 plus years ago, after God's prompting me to do something about the AIDS epidemic in Africa and my prayers asking for guidance on what specifically I should do, I sponsored/adopted a orphan girl from Kenya through Compassion International.

Today she found me on Facebook and we chatted live for almost 2 hours. Not only is she a delight to talk too... She has just started University, and is training to be a a community health care worker with a specialty in HIV management.

She repeatedly told me how much my support had made a difference in her life and how she feels honored to be following in my footsteps by studying science, being a Christian, and taking a stand for gender equality as a female leader in her community.

She calls me Mum when she talks to me ... blush and thinks of herself as my daughter.

It is amazing what impact a few letters and gifts can have on the life of somebody so far away. Especially in a part of the world less inundated with "things".

And what a huge difference a mere $36 a month in the hands of a reputable charity can make in schooling and health of a child in a poor nation.

I am so proud of what she has done and is going to do with her life!! She is so fired up about making a difference in her community and the world! And she plans on doing that by loving others, they way she has been loved. I am genuinely humbled to have been just a small part of God's plan to shower her with that Love and look forward to continuing to be so.

She is truly the daughter of my heart.