$30.00
Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Faramir giving me 16 willpower feels weird rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Angelos
Greece
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Playing the "PAssage Through Mirkwood" with the Core Leadership deck and my setup is as follows:



I'm at the Planning stage and I currently have the following heroes and allies in place:

Aragorn (with Celebrians Stone attached) : 4 WP
Theodred : 1WP
Gloin : 2WP
2 x Longbeard Orc Slayers : 2 x 0WP
Guard of the Citadel: 1WP
Silverlode Archer: 1WP

Question 1:
Assume I commit _everyone_ to quest. That's 9 willpower.
Assume I exhaust faramir. Does everyone get +1 WP? And if yes, does htis mean that suddenly I have:
4+1, 1+1, 2+1, 2x1, 1+1, 1+1 == 16 (!!!) WP?

Question 2:
If the above is correct, does this mean that unless I draw Ungoliant's Spawn, I'll have at least 12 WP (assuming I draw something big with 4 Threat) to play with? And if yes, that's 2 WP to clcear the Location and then 10 WP to immediatelly clear the Beorn's Path quest card and win the game?

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Broderick
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Answer 1: Yes.

Answer 2: Yes.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelos
Greece
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Whoohoo! First win

Thank you
Lee Broderick
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Hansen
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Another big feature of Faramir's ability is that you can wait to use it until after the staging step. That way he won't get damaged by Necromancer's Reach, and if it turns out you don't need all that willpower you can use him to attack or defend.
15 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rosen Crantz
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
mb
Yep, you get a player action between revealing the encounter card and resolving the quest.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Sterling
United States
Redmond
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Totally a win! Congrats!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kelly Bass
United States
Venice
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Seems like Necromancer's Reach would fatally wound Theodred, 1 LB Orcslayer, SL Archer.
But that would still leave you with:
Aragorn (with Celebrians Stone attached) : 4 WP
Gloin : 2WP
1 x Longbeard Orc Slayers : 1 x 0WP
Guard of the Citadel: 1WP

Then with Faramir, you'd only have 11WP? I could be wrong...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Titus M
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, that's 16, but chockle's right - you're only golden if they all survive the next draw! ninja
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Wadzinski
United States
South Bend
Indiana
flag msg tools
mb
Weird in a climbing the rope in gym class kinda way
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.