Hide
9 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Middle East rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
The Docito
msg tools
I’ve been playing Twilight on playdek for a few months and I’m getting better. I generally play as +2 US and have roughly 50% success rate against all comers. I’ve followed basically guides on here and more often than not I’ve not worried myself too much regarding the middle east:
My general ME strategy is to get into Lebanon, try and get to lybia and fight over iran. More often than not I’m pretty much bullied out of most places except for Lebannon and perhaps Iran. Now I avoid spending too much ops on other areas considering challenges that lie ahead and the commitment needed to fill Israel (especially if I’ve lost the war) always seems secondary to other more pressing locations.
However I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m losing a lot of VPs in ME. It can often be scored 3 times before the final turn, if you chuck Opec as well there’s upwards of 30 VPs that I’m conceding. In the rare occurances I play as USSR I notice that US often fights a much stronger battle in ME that I do.
I’ve realised that I almost always always achieve domination in Asia and fight hard to keep it that way. But because of early losses I’m far more reluctant to fight back in ME as anything close to parity seems like a huge undertaking.
Obivously we’re speaking in general terms but what do you make of this?
Should I be focusing more of an effort on ME?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Miyares
United States
Lorton
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
One thing about the Middle East is that it's often the best (or only) option for Battleground Coups as the US during the Early War, if the Soviets haven't gotten De-Stal or Decol to fire. Not that you'll often have an opportunity to drop DEFCON, but it's something to look out for, if a good AR6 play has left the USSR in a pickle.