Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chad Byer
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm thinking about ordering soon but curious if I should just go with the base game for now or also pick up Outer Planets? I'll mostly be playing solo and I'm fairly new to the solo scene so this is a trial run. I've been gaming for a long time now but recently moved for a job that consumes a lot of my time so I've started trying solo experiences when I can. Any opinions are welcome. Thank you!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Reevo
United Kingdom
Ipswich
Suffolk
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Chad. I went for the original version and am happy with that decision so far. There's plenty to learn and enjoy to start and I'm grateful for not having the the expansion, which would just make it too complicated with my little brain! However, once I master the game, I'll definitely get the upgrade at some point. It's an amazing game.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Honestly, I don't think being new to solo gaming should have anything to do with your question. This is not a typical solo experience, so having experience playing solo games doesn't give you a "leg up", nor does a lack of solo experience mean that the game is going to be any more difficult.

IMHO, the answer to your question should be based on your interest in the subject and on your capacity to play the mechanics of this game. Again, the mechanics of this game are very unique so gaming experience of any kind really isn't an advantage. (Though having gaming experience only from the perspective of reading rulebooks could be helpful).

So, are you interested in the subject? As far as I'm concerned, your answer to this question is the primary consideration.