$30.00
Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Paths to Hell» Forums » Rules

Subject: Armored assault? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
eric magill
United States
russellville
Arkansas
flag msg tools
If reading rules correctly, armored units cannot assault other armored units or transports. Is this correct? Wondering logic behind this. Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicolas Eskubi
Spain
Bilbao
Vizcaya
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Eric,

Right, armor units can't assault other armored units or transports.

Take in mind the "armor assault" is like a overrun, you can make a armor assault/crush to static units or slow ones like infantry, artillery, etc but can't run behind a truck or tank to try to do the same. With the scale of the game (150 to 200 meters) and the mecanic, or move or shoot, don't make sense assault/crush a transport or another tank, you always will shoot first and in many cases the trasnport or enemy tank can be faster than yours and would make impossible the assault and don't make sense at all be running chase a truck or tank to assault or crush. Thats why we design the game this way.

Best
Niko
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
eric magill
United States
russellville
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Sounds reasonable. Enjoying the game!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philippe Larmande
France
Paris
Paris
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
So that's mean with this new rule in Paths of Hell (the rule was different in La bataille de France) that :

- If one side has 2 INF and 1 AFV in a hex, it would be impossible for the other side to assault this hex ? (Anti armor assault is only INF vs sole AFV, and Armor support is no longer authorized for INF vs AFV+INF)

- If an INF stack is assaulted by an INF+AFV stack and the assalut result in a draw (neither side as to retreat) that means the INF stack will not be able to assault the INF+AFV stack (or fire at it) and will be "frozen" ?

That's look very strange.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicolas Eskubi
Spain
Bilbao
Vizcaya
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Philippe,

I answer you in CSW.

Post here again to let the rest that can have the same question read it:

Quote:
So that's mean with this new rule in Paths of Hell (the rule was different in La bataille de France) that : - If one side has 2 INF and 1 AFV in a hex, it would be impossible for the other side to assault this hex ? (Anti armor assault is only INF vs sole AFV, and Armor support is no longer authorized for INF vs AFV+INF)


Right, the Standard are the new and upgraded rules (all text in red are upgrades or new rules as is indicated in the rulebook).

Is possible assaulting the hex with just infantry making a HtH combat.

Quote:
- If an INF stack is assaulted by an INF+AFV stack and the assalut result in a draw (neither side as to retreat) that means the INF stack will not be able to assault the INF+AFV stack (or fire at it) and will be "frozen" ? That's look very strange.


No, you can fire at or reinforce the HtH combat (only the side have AFVs can reinforce with AFVs, and the melee continues, rule 9.1.4 and rule 9.1.6).


Best
Niko
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Samuele Falco
msg tools
mbmbmb
Not sure I can get a reply from this old thread (otherwise I'll open a new one).
I cannot understand this reply


Niko3 wrote:
Hi Philippe,

I answer you in CSW.

Post here again to let the rest that can have the same question read it:

Quote:
So that's mean with this new rule in Paths of Hell (the rule was different in La bataille de France) that : - If one side has 2 INF and 1 AFV in a hex, it would be impossible for the other side to assault this hex ? (Anti armor assault is only INF vs sole AFV, and Armor support is no longer authorized for INF vs AFV+INF)



Is possible assaulting the hex with just infantry making a HtH combat.

Niko



How is it possible for HtH assault to occur in a hex with AFVs? I assumed the HtH rule "Hand-to-Hand combat (HtH) occurs between units of foot movement type" means a hex with only foot-movement type units can be assaulted via HtH.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juan Carlos Cebrián
msg tools
Hi Samuele

How is it possible for HtH assault to occur in a hex with AFVs? I assumed the HtH rule "Hand-to-Hand combat (HtH) occurs between units of foot movement type" means a hex with only foot-movement type units can be assaulted via HtH.

You can make HtH when is Inf vs Inf,

Armoured assault AFVs vs Inf,

Anti armour assault vs AFVs or transport units attacking Inf and

Armoured assault that may not be used against a hex with enemy AFVs and the defender may choose to perform either defensive fire or anti-armor assault in response to the assault (of course, the latter applies only if the attacker has AFVs).In such a case, apply the hand-to-hand combat rules, with the attacker adding the combat value of their participating infantry and AFV units as given in the “Assault Combat Value Chart


regrads

JCC
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Samuele Falco
msg tools
mbmbmb
That's exactly what I meant. Based on your reply, a hex containing both AFVs and Infantry cannot be assaulted, since none of the four methods applies.
This is in contrast with your previous comment, where you wrote that a hex with AFV+Infantry can be assaulted by enemy infantry with HtH.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juan Carlos Cebrián
msg tools
That's exactly what I meant. Based on your reply, a hex containing both AFVs and Infantry cannot be assaulted, since none of the four methods applies.
This is in contrast with your previous comment, where you wrote that a hex with AFV+Infantry can be assaulted by enemy infantry with HtH.


Hand-to-Hand combat (HtH) occurs between units of foot movement type vs units of foot movement type and Armoured assault rule

JCC
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Yates
msg tools
mbmbmb
samuele wrote:
That's exactly what I meant. Based on your reply, a hex containing both AFVs and Infantry cannot be assaulted, since none of the four methods applies.
This is in contrast with your previous comment, where you wrote that a hex with AFV+Infantry can be assaulted by enemy infantry with HtH.


Hello Samuele,

Did you manage to figure this out? Because you are right that there isn't an assault rule for INF VS INF&AFV. OR INF&AFV VS INF&AFV. Or at leaset it isn't clear.

Surely it is possible for combined arms and combined arms to attack one another?

Regarding INF VS INF&AFV, maybe INF do anti-armour assault but apply step-hits to the enemy INF first? Like in the hit allocation rules?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.