Subject: Advice for a cooperative newbie? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Theriot
United States
Mississippi
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi everyone. I'm totally new to deck building games. My wife, being a fan of the Harry Potter series, was super excited when she received Harry Potter: Battle for Hogwarts, and we LOVE it. So she decided that she'd like to look into more cooperative deck building games and found this one.

I've been doing some brief reading and found that the Alien variant to this game is better for cooperative play but not AS much for replayability. She's not interested in Alien at all.

I was hoping everyone here could offer some information on just how cooperative this one is and which expansions we should get with the base game to make this the best cooperative experience possible.

My wife and I thank you so much for your help and guidance in finding the right ones for us.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew McGorman
United Kingdom
Belfast
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
for pure co-op just avoid the villains set and the fear itself set

beyond that pick marvel characters you enjoy and see what expansions they are in.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Salch
United States
Bristol
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I would start with the base set and play the suggested setup for a first game. It will get you the mechanics and is a fairly easy scenario. After that I would mix and match. After you decide you love it, I would suggest Legendary: Dark City as the next expansion, because it has a lot of bang for your buck. Then I would consider in whatever order you like.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Przemyslaw Kozlowski
Canada
London
Ontario
flag msg tools
Legandary Encounters has more direct cooperative elements while in Marvel Legendary the cooperation tends to be more on the strategic level.