$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Diplomacy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Is this a bounce or swapped position? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Edwin Chin
msg tools
Hi i am new to diplomacy and would like to resolve this set of moves:

Russia:
F stp attacks norway
A mos moves to stp

England:
A norway attacks stp
F barents sea support norway -> stp

Is this a bounce and everyone stays in place? Or does fleet move to norway and army in norway moves to stp?


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fraser
Australia
Melbourne
flag msg tools
admin
designer
Back in the days when there were less maps we played every map back to back
badge
Ooh a little higher, now a bit to the left, a little more, a little more, just a bit more. Oooh yes, that's the spot!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
(done without a map, from memory all the orders are valid - with Stp the convention is to specify which coast).

Eng A Nor -> Stp succeeds because it is 2-1 with the support of F Bar

Russian A Mos -> Stp bounces
Russian F Stp must retreat (not to Norway)
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edwin Chin
msg tools
Thanks for the quick reply. So if there is no explicit support the english dislodges unit in stp AND mos? Would it make a difference if sweden supports stp attacking norway?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Harmony, liberal intercourse with all nations, are recommended by policy, humanity, and interest.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, but ... the A Mos is not "dislodged". It never leaves Moscow.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fraser
Australia
Melbourne
flag msg tools
admin
designer
Back in the days when there were less maps we played every map back to back
badge
Ooh a little higher, now a bit to the left, a little more, a little more, just a bit more. Oooh yes, that's the spot!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Moscow move bounces because of the 2-1 attack into St P (i.e. it loses 1-2), so the Moscow unit just stays in Moscow.

Sweden is something new you hadn't mentioned before. If Sweden is a Russian unit, then that would be 2-2, so everything would bounce.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edwin Chin
msg tools
Thanks. I didn't mention Sweden because Germany could cut its support. Seems like holding in stp(with support from mos) is a better move?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fraser
Australia
Melbourne
flag msg tools
admin
designer
Back in the days when there were less maps we played every map back to back
badge
Ooh a little higher, now a bit to the left, a little more, a little more, just a bit more. Oooh yes, that's the spot!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Given that is is probably less likely that the support from Moscow could be cut then yes. However, if Moscow is supporting Saint Petersburg, then St P can't move, although could support Sweden somewhere, but then the German could move into Sweden...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Samy
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
Chaaaarge!!
badge
First Image Ever of a Hydrogen Atom's Electron Cloud
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Echin6 wrote:

Russia:
F stp attacks norway

You need to specify the coast. The south coast is not adjacent to Norway, so if the fleet was there it would be an invalid order and the unit would hold instead. Note that Russia's starting fleet in StP starts on the south coast.

Echin6 wrote:
Thanks for the quick reply. So if there is no explicit support the english dislodges unit in stp AND mos? Would it make a difference if sweden supports stp attacking norway?

"Dislodged" means a unit was forced to retreat by an attack of greater strength than its defense. Moscow was not attacked, so there is no way it can be dislodged.

Not sure what you mean by "explicit" support since there is no such thing as "implicit" support.

If an army in Sweden supports F Stp(nc)-Nor, then none of the units move since there is a 2 on 2 bounce.

You can try this program if you want to test various moves: http://realpolitik.sourceforge.net/downloads.html
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.