$20.00
$5.00
$15.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Small City» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can Residential areas expand either way? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Pierce
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can a Residential area grow in either direction? I understand that for an Imdustrial or Commercial you must retain the action spaces on the same board space (i.e. The $1 commercial space can't move). However for a Residential am I allowed to expand on either side?

For example:

Let's say I have this where X=blank space, C=Cultural Building, and R=Residential:

XXCXX
XXRXX
XXXXX

I build a second Cultural Building and my R1 becomes a R2:

XXCCX
XXRRX
XXXXX

I then build a third Cultural Building and my R2 becomes an R3. Are both of these valid expansions? In the first case the starting space of my Residential is moving, so I'm unclear if it is allowed.

XXCCX
XRRRX
XXCXX

OR

XXCCX
XXRRR
XXCXX
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A K Vikhagen
Sweden
Gothenborg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd say yes, those two are valid expansions - only factories and commercial buildings can't be "flipped": each space on those must correspond to the same space on the upgrade. Not so on residentials.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Pressler
United States
West Lafayette
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
OMG! Overtext! How long have I been sleeping?! OVERTEXT! Also, I'm a DESIGNER now?! Sweet! OVERTEXXXXXXT!
badge
HO HO HO! Give me some money!
mbmbmbmbmb
Agreed, this is fine. Every square of a residential tile is identical, so there is nothing special about the "starting space".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
AlbaN ViarD
France
Bourgogne
flag msg tools
designer
GaryP wrote:
Agreed, this is fine. Every square of a residential tile is identical, so there is nothing special about the "starting space".


I confirm (except if factories are somewhere around...)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.