$60.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Star Wars: Rebellion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retreat from combat without a leader rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Anders Pettersson
Sweden
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Hi!

Quick question that I'm not sure if the rules are clear on:

Can you retreat from a combat if you do not have a leader present in the combat? - I.e. Player A uses a leader to attack in a system. Player B does not send in a leader to assist (i.e. not allowed to draw any tactic cards). Can player B still retreat from the combat?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lukas Hejtman
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
No, you need leader to retreat.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Inappropriate Andy
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the section titled "Retreat" on page 15 of the English 'Learn to Play' guide it states:
"If a player does not have a leader in the system, he cannot
retreat."
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anders Pettersson
Sweden
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Thx, then it's very clear! - So if a Death Star attacks a system of rebel ships and the rebels have exhausted its Leader Pool for the round, then noway to run for them and no way to win the battle (given that Rebels do not have the proper objective card)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lukas Hejtman
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
Yes, the rebel scum will be crushed!
And don´t forget that there is also rule that the Imperial player cannot retreat any units if he has a Death Star in the combat.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Sherlock
United States
Anaheim Hills
California
flag msg tools
Admin @ www.cigargeeks.com
mbmbmbmbmb
One reason for this rule is that a leader must move with the retreating units, keeping them from being activated again. If this rule wasn't there, a fleet could go in, do some damage, exhaust its tactics cards, retreat, repeat.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Inappropriate Andy
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
AndersPetter wrote:
Thx, then it's very clear!

Well, the rule is in the 'Learn to Play' manual but funnily I couldn't find a single sentence about it in the supposedly more comprehensive 'Rules Reference' - I can see why it was confusing!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
InappropriateAndy wrote:
AndersPetter wrote:
Thx, then it's very clear!

Well, the rule is in the 'Learn to Play' manual but funnily I couldn't find a single sentence about it in the supposedly more comprehensive 'Rules Reference' - I can see why it was confusing!


Uh... The Retreating section (under Combat) states:
RRG - Combat - Retreating wrote:
To retreat from combat, the player must take one of his leaders
from the system and place it in an adjacent system.

If it's something you must do to retreat then you can't retreat without a leader.
6 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Inappropriate Andy
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
Uh... The Retreating section (under Combat) states:
RRG - Combat - Retreating wrote:
To retreat from combat, the player must take one of his leaders
from the system and place it in an adjacent system.

If it's something you must do to retreat then you can't retreat without a leader.


You are absolutely correct! See, I missed it too!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.