GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

8,924 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
18 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Star Wars: Rebellion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does leaders thats been turned to dark side count as captured rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Blonde Cobra
msg tools
mbmbmb
Does leaders thats been turned to dark side count as captured when you play that card that give you 1 point if you have no captured leaders
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
No, only leaders with a captured ring or carbonite ring are considered to be captured.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PETE SCARPERO
United States
MACUNGIE
PA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I would personally say no. They are no longer captured, they are turned. I would equate "captured" to be quite literally a leader that has the "captured" ring attached to it. And thematically, once you're turned you're no longer there against your will, so aren't captured.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Sherlock
United States
Anaheim Hills
California
flag msg tools
badge
Admin @ www.cigargeeks.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here are the relevant rules:

Some Imperial card abilities capture Rebel leaders. When a leader is
captured, attach the captured ring to the leader.

When a different ring is attached to a captured leader, the
captured leader ring is removed.

A leader with the carbonite attachment ring is still a captured
leader. It can be rescued and targeted by any card that affects
captured leaders.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

The entry, "Captured Leaders" on page 3 of the Rules Reference confirms that when a leader is captured, a captured ring is attached to the leader. It also says that a carbonite ring is also a captured leader.

So as Craig said above, if a leader doesn't have either of those two rings, then the leader isn't captured. Just going by what the rules say.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris
United States
Texas / Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jackalope wrote:
When a different ring is attached to a captured leader, the
captured leader ring is removed.


I was already 99% agreeing with the others, but this seals it. The turned leader gains the "Lure of the Dark Side" ring and is put into the Empire's leader pool for the remainder of the game, with no chance of rescue or returning to the rebels. The "captured" ring is again available for use.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fed Aykin

Texas
msg tools
mbmbmb
Found this in the Rules Reference. It doesn't speak to the question of leaders who have been turned to the dark side, but because it does not mention them, I would say that they are not "captured" - unlike a leader frozen in carbonite.

CAPTURED LEADERS
Some Imperial card abilities capture Rebel leaders. When a leader is
captured, attach the captured ring to the leader.
bb Captured leaders do not oppose missions, cannot return to the
leader pool, and cannot be moved by the Rebel player.
• If a mission is attempted “against a captured leader,” the
captured leader opposes the mission and rolls dice. The
Rebel player can also send another leader from his leader
pool to oppose the mission as normal.
bb Captured leaders do not prevent Rebel units from moving out
of their system.
bb The Imperial player can move a captured leader as if it were a
ground unit, but it does not count toward transport capacity.
• Captured leaders cannot be moved when retreating.
bb If a second leader is captured, the first leader is rescued, and
the captured ring is attached to the new leader.
• When a different ring is attached to a captured leader, the
captured leader ring is removed.
bb A leader with the carbonite attachment ring is still a captured
leader. It can be rescued and targeted by any card that affects
captured leaders.
• If the leader is rescued, the Rebels do not regain the
reputation lost from the “Carbon Freezing” mission.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There's a simple thing to solve all this... If the lured leader were still captured, they'd be following all the captured rules, such as moving only via transport and so on.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Witold G
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Avatar
Gurgeth wrote:
Does leaders thats been turned to dark side count as captured when you play that card that give you 1 point if you have no captured leaders


Whether or not lured leader counts as captured is irrelevant in this particular case - because it no longer is a Rebel leader. Lure of the Dark Side turns it into an Imperial leader, Leave No One Behind only counts Rebel leaders.

Before someone asks, lured leader cannot possibly count as an Imperial leader and a Rebel leader at the same time. While rulebooks and cards never explicitly say that, it would make Refresh Phase seriously complicated...

RR p. 12, "Refresh Phase" section:
"Retrieve Leaders: Players return all their leaders from the
game board to their leader pools."


Cards for reference:



3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.