$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Others» Forums » Rules

Subject: Battle Timing Question: Hits or Corruption? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
(Chuck Singer)
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The battle dice are cast and the results are tallied. The Sin player is going to inflict 2 Hits and 3 Corruption to the Hero. In what order are they applied or is it the attacker's choice?

Here is the situation we were in where it mattered. The Hero is at six corruption and three wounds. The Hero is going to die if hits or corruption are applied first. But the Hero is also protecting an innocent. If Hits are applied first, then the Hero dies immediately and drops the innocent (in an advantageous space to be picked up for quick win). If the corruption can be applied first, then the Hero kills the innocent before dying, guaranteeing a couple more turns for the Sin player.

The rules are not clear on the timing of this. If there was a simple "then" apply corruption, this would not be a question. It looks like you would apply hits first just because it is listed first in the rules, so that is the way we played it. But it was not clear and we spent a good amount of time searching to come up empty handed.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
W
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Chuck Singer wrote:
The battle dice are cast and the results are tallied. The Sin player is going to inflict 2 Hits and 3 Corruption to the Hero. In what order are they applied or is it the attacker's choice?

Here is the situation we were in where it mattered. The Hero is at six corruption and three wounds. The Hero is going to die if hits or corruption are applied first. But the Hero is also protecting an innocent. If Hits are applied first, then the Hero dies immediately and drops the innocent (in an advantageous space to be picked up for quick win). If the corruption can be applied first, then the Hero kills the innocent before dying, guaranteeing a couple more turns for the Sin player.

The rules are not clear on the timing of this. If there was a simple "then" apply corruption, this would not be a question. It looks like you would apply hits first just because it is listed first in the rules, so that is the way we played it. But it was not clear and we spent a good amount of time searching to come up empty handed.



Here is the FAQ https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1623791/multiple-rules-clar...

"Q: In the story "Into the Breach", if during a fight a Hero posessing the Innocent takes corruption voluntarily, which puts them at maximum corruption, would the Innocent die before or after the fight occurred?

A: If a Hero gains Corruption during the fight, they will only destroy the Innocent after the fight is over."

this tells me that even if the Sins corrupt the heroes to max, they will not kill the innocent until the fight is over(if he is still alive)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Aull
United States
Owensboro
KY
flag msg tools
Gaming Collector/Enthusiast
badge
Gamer Without a Cause
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Which also answers the second part of your question--if the Hero is corrupted to the max, the Innocent will die after the battle.

Either way, the Innocent will be dead at the end and will not drop for someone else to pick up.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
(Chuck Singer)
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hillean wrote:
Which also answers the second part of your question--if the Hero is corrupted to the max, the Innocent will die after the battle.

Either way, the Innocent will be dead at the end and will not drop for someone else to pick up.


That doesn't make sense to me. The rules say that when a Hero takes their fifth wound, they die immediately. If I apply wounds before corruption, the Hero would be dead before they become corrupted, because of the *immediately* part. Therefore, the innocent should be dropped.



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emivaldo Sousa
Brazil
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Chuck Singer wrote:
Hillean wrote:
Which also answers the second part of your question--if the Hero is corrupted to the max, the Innocent will die after the battle.

Either way, the Innocent will be dead at the end and will not drop for someone else to pick up.


That doesn't make sense to me. The rules say that when a Hero takes their fifth wound, they die immediately. If I apply wounds before corruption, the Hero would be dead before they become corrupted, because of the *immediately* part. Therefore, the innocent should be dropped.





In those kind of games - immediately almost always means: "immediately after you conclude the current action". Otherwise a lot of exploits and undesired effects might occur. It appears to be the case with The Others, but only the designer can tell you for sure.

In any case, things are always much clearer if if you always finish the current action before interrupting the gameplay.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Jones
Ireland
flag msg tools
Based on the "Effects on the Hero" on pg. 33 of the rulebook it seems that implicitly you take hits and then corruption. As it references pg. 40 after mentioning the effects of hits, and the rules on hits are explicitly clear that the hero dies as soon as the fifth wound token is placed on the board, not when the phase completes, I'd say that hero definitely dies before becoming corrupted. The rules are perfectly clear if you play them in order and dont produce any untoward interactions (not killing innocents is a minor edge bonus for the hero team, but they have just lost a member).

Looking at the official rules clarifications edge cases generally turn out in favour of the heroes so this interpretation would follow that general trend.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.