Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Hi, I'm new to the WotR forums... I don't currently own the game, but due to my fondness for the LotR story/movies, and also due in part to Fraser Mackenzie's wonderful video review, I decided to splurge on the upcoming 2ed Anniversary Edition. Thusly while I wait for its delivery, I perk-up whenever/wherever I see War of the Ring mentioned.

And I did so when I saw this blog post: Pop-ratings 2015. Thematic games

You'll note that War of the Ring comes in at #73 out of 100, on the popular games played. Of course this list is "what it is". I.e., while it uses a scientific method to analyze data, the data itself is incomplete (based on number of plays). The other problem of course is there's no way to tell how large the data set should be. So needless to say, this list is only as valid as the user wants it to be.

Though having said all that, it can't be argued that for the data it does use, War of the Ring sits at the 73rd percentile. That made me go, "Hmmm...". Thusly I started a conversation in the comments section, there, to ask for opinions about why the game sits at a low popularity level, despite its high rankings on the BGG lists. ... For anyone who's interested.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Hansen
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the short answer is that it is a long, heavy, 2 player game with a very specific theme. There are way more people out there that would sit down for a game of Dead of Winter or Munchkin but not even glance at WotR. You can't just walk into a game store, crack open War of the Ring, and play a game with your significant other.

So, it's one of those games, similar to Twilight Struggle or a lot of Wargames, that appeals to a smaller subset of gamers. But it well loved by that subset, as evidenced by the high average rating and BGG ranking.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide