Risk» Forums » Strategy

Subject: How do you topple a turtle? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex Smart
United States
Wyoming
flag msg tools
Hi, I just joined the site. I also just finished off a rather drawn out RISK match with my brother and was wondering if anyone has advice on countering the "Turtle" strategy?

Trying to get him to understand how bad of a strategy that is at the later stages, but so far I can't seem to beat it unless I get lucky enough to get a decent card turn in bonus, or have the luck of the dice on my side and hold him back for a few minutes. If it helps any, it's a sure bet that at some point he goes for Australia/Oceania, taking it and stockpiling troops for a bit before launching out and spreading himself thin... as well as drawing the game out.

I apologize if this is in the wrong section or if I've violated some sort of posting rules, I'm a newb and plan to get caught up on all the forum rules here pretty quick.

Long and short, I enjoy playing RISK with my brother a lot, just the whole turtle thing gets annoying and draggy and I'm stuck trying to counter it. Thanks for your time.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim F
United Kingdom
Birmingham
West Midlands
flag msg tools
Where the heck did this interest in WW1 come from?
badge
Ashwin in front of Tiger 131
mb

I guess the problem is two fold. One - it lengthens the game. Two - it works in terms of winning the game so your brother has no incentive to stop doing it.

You will have to make sure that you don't allow him to turtle by making sure you contest the areas you control in Australia (for example) more vigorously.

Of course you could use the same tactic on him. He might see that it isn't the most enjoyable way to play the game and you could find a house rule (a rule of your own that you both agree on) that stops it.

Risk can be a fun game but having played many games with my brother back in the say, I can sympathise with your dilemma.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide