$20.00
$5.00
$15.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Trek: Ascendancy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you pass hostile ships while in warp? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The rules say that while traveling at impulse or warp you may not enter or pass through sectors containing hostile ships. The rules also say that ships in warp are not considered to be on the board at all until they exit warp.

This leads me to wonder if a ship in warp is considered to pass through anything if they are not even considered to be on the board. They would definitely have to abide by the restriction on entering (exiting warp in) a sector that contains hostile ships, but shouldn't they be able to ignore the restriction on passing through?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
Overtext pending moderation...
mbmbmbmbmb
csouth154 wrote:
The rules say that while traveling at impulse or warp you may not enter or pass through sectors containing hostile ships.


You seem to have answered your own question.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James J

Texas
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The one exception in the base set is the Adv. Romulan Cloaking Device Advancement. That would allow warping past enemy ships.

And I expect we'll see more special movement exceptions in the expansions. For example, the Ferengi have one fleet that can end it's movement in the same sector as enemy ships (although it specifically mentions that it cannot warp past enemies).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nova Cat
United States
Bakersfield
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
A ship at warp is not considered to be on the board, true. However, a ship at warp also cannot move. Only when you use a command to have that ship exit warp can it move, at which point it's no longer at warp, and is thus back on the board.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
OK...makes sense. I guess the significance of ships in warp not being on the board is limited to the fact that ships in warp do not block movement of rival ships and that they are never considered to be adjacent to or in the same sector as anything else.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.