Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Warhammer Quest: Silver Tower» Forums » Rules

Subject: Divine Will and Philtre of Luck combination? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Karl
New Zealand
Hamilton
flag msg tools
mbmb
Excelsior Warpriest has Divine Will, meaning he gets the bonus for being holy, so every player gets to re-roll attack rolls with a result of 1. Any player with the Philtre of Luck can change the result of their attack roll to anything they like, and then roll a die and if they roll lower than the result they set it to, they lose the potion.

So, hero attacks, rolls a die. It is not a 6, so they use the Philtre to change the result to a 1. They can't roll lower than 1, so they keep the Philtre, then their attack roll is now a result of 1, so they re-roll it. Repeat until you have a 6. If this player is the Tenebrael Shard, they get another free action on a roll of 6. This means that with this combo, they can make infinite attacks as long as there are enemies within reach and then teleport with their final free action.

Aethereal Surge also gives infinite actions. Crazy.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Outlaw
United Kingdom
Devizes
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
badge
The Wing Warrior - learn more at www.facebook.com/thelegendriders
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are only allowed to reroll a dice once.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duncan Cole
New Zealand
Hamilton
Waikato
flag msg tools
RedMonkeyBoy wrote:
You are only allowed to reroll a dice once.

Shit, looks like we have to restart the entire campaign, Dave.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jared Voshall
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
While that specific combo doesn't work, I did come across one that - while not guaranteed to be infinite, has a very high chance of lasting far longer than you need it to. The pieces:

Orruk Warchanter (original version)
Aetheric Surge

How does this work? The original version of the Orruk Warchanter had a 1+ attack that hit on a 2+, and if it hit, you would attack again at a 3+, then a 4+, etc until you missed. Aetheric Surge granted you a 1 pip Action Die when you rolled a 6 on an Attack roll. Effectively, every time you attacked, you had about a 60% chance of replacing that die and being able to keep attacking (potentially adding 2-3 dice with some luck). The game where I saw it pop up saw the player using it deal over 21 points of damage in one turn.

This was fixed in two ways with the new hero pack. First, the extra attack is no longer classed as a free attack, instead being an untyped roll to add more damage to the attack, and secondly by changing that particular attack into a 3+ action with a different attack taking the 1+ slot. Still relatively powerful, but not nearly the game breaker it had been.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Karl
New Zealand
Hamilton
flag msg tools
mbmb
RedMonkeyBoy wrote:
You are only allowed to reroll a dice once.


Is that an explicit rule in the rulebook?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Outlaw
United Kingdom
Devizes
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
badge
The Wing Warrior - learn more at www.facebook.com/thelegendriders
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Uncle Gus wrote:
RedMonkeyBoy wrote:
You are only allowed to reroll a dice once.


Is that an explicit rule in the rulebook?


Yes. It's under the section on re-rolling dice on page 22.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Karl
New Zealand
Hamilton
flag msg tools
mbmb
Footnote wrote:
RedMonkeyBoy wrote:
You are only allowed to reroll a dice once.

Shit, looks like we have to restart the entire campaign, Dave.


For real.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.