Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

The Arrival» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules Error? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rodger Samuel
United States
Beaver Falls
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On page 6, under section A.3, subsection a) Fame Points:

It states that players receive 2 Fame Pts per each Broch or Caer, then it says they receive 3 Fame Points per each Caer.

I suspect that, instead of "Broch or Caer" it should have said 2 points for each "Broch or Ait." This would eliminate the contradiction regarding Caers. Is this correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph Bienert
Germany
Gaimersheim
flag msg tools
publisher
Game's Up / Board Game Heroes
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Hi,

no, that is no error. A 3-level-fortification (Caer) always includes a 2-level one (Broch) and a 1-level one (Ait).

But a 2-level-fortification only includes a 1-level one, not a 3-level one.

Hope, that makes it clearer...

Regards

Ralph
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rodger Samuel
United States
Beaver Falls
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah! So, that means a total of 5 Fame pts for a Caer? Two points for the included Broch, plus three points for the Caer?

Also, apparently no points are awarded for an Ait?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antonio J.
Spain
Palma de Mallorca
Baleares (isla Mallorca)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hey!
I think that Rodger is right in relation :

"On page 6, under section A.3, subsection a) Fame Points:

It states that players receive 2 Fame Pts per each Broch or Caer, then it says they receive 3 Fame Points per each Caer.

I suspect that, instead of "Broch or Caer" it should have said 2 points for each "Broch or Ait." This would eliminate the contradiction regarding Caers. Is this correct?

Because in the image of 2FP shows 2 disc, and 2 discs are a Ait and a Broch
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph Bienert
Germany
Gaimersheim
flag msg tools
publisher
Game's Up / Board Game Heroes
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Hi again,

seems to be a source of uncleareness...

The one showing the 2-level fortification (i.e. Broch) with a reward of 2 Fame Points means, that I gain the Fame Points if I have built at least a Broch.

Since a 3-level fortification (Caer) also includes a Broch by nature, I also get the 2 Fame Points if I have a Caer instead of a mere Broch.

3 Fame Points are rewarded only for Caers here, not for smaller fortifications, i.e. I need at least 3 levels.


There is no additional reward for any Ait here.


Best

Ralph

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Kocur
United States
Glendale
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have yet to look through the cards but it seems points for building at least 2 disc fortification and points for building 3 disc fortifaction will never be on the same card/row so most you can get for a 3 disc building is 3 fame per instance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Rubbo
United States
Philadelphia
PA
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Raedwulf wrote:
Hi,

no, that is no error. A 3-level-fortification (Caer) always includes a 2-level one (Broch) and a 1-level one (Ait).

But a 2-level-fortification only includes a 1-level one, not a 3-level one.

Hope, that makes it clearer...

Regards

Ralph


Hi Ralph,

So, following this, the Big Migration tactic can move two forts of any size, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph Bienert
Germany
Gaimersheim
flag msg tools
publisher
Game's Up / Board Game Heroes
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Hi,

no, you cannot transfer this rule to that Tactic Tile. Rules (last page) state here, that only Aits (1-level-pieces) can be swapped.

Best

Ralph
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Rubbo
United States
Philadelphia
PA
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh, ok. There didn't seem to be many places where that rule does apply, so I assumed it applied there.

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.