Late response, I know.
1. Yes, it sounds as though the 2nd victim can still be scored as a potential suspect for the first body.
2. Perhaps you have an older version of the rules. The rules in thee file posted on BGG states:
END OF A CASE
A case ends when the tile deck is exhausted and all players have placed all of their tiles or have used all of their interview markers. Note: Keep playing tiles after there are none left to draw.
I interpret that to mean the end of the round when all the players have played their turns.