Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Eldritch Horror: Strange Remnants» Forums » Rules

Subject: Syzygy Final mystery and All for nothing mythos card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andreas Pettersson
Sweden
Arvika
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We played Syzygy yesterday, solved two mysteries which triggered the final mystery and let us place two clues on the AO sheet.

Later we drew the All for nothing mythos card and decided against spending the clues, shuffling a solved mystery back into the deck.

Since we placed two clues on the AO sheet for having two solved mysteries, should we then remove one of the clues for "unsolving" a mystery?

We decided against it since the exact wording is "Place 1 Clue on this sheet for each solved Mystery" and also the victory condition just says clues equal to half investigators + 2. If the number of solved mysteries were to be counted it would reference the number of solved mysteries the way it is done on the Sealing the portal special encounter cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tokens are the game's only form of "memory". So if you are accumulating tokens or spending tokens then the only time the number of tokens is adjusted is when an effect tells you to do so. Generally speaking, take the text on the cards at face value and do what the card tells you to do.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David "Davy" Ashleydale
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So in that case, it wasn't all for nothing.

I agree with mccrispy, but I also wouldn't be surprised if the game designers issued an errata someday for Syzygy that stated, "Place 1 Clue on this sheet for each Mystery solved. If a solved Mystery is ever shuffled back in to the Mystery deck or removed from the game, remove 1 Clue from this sheet."

But until then, I would definitely play it as mccrispy says.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Pettersson
Sweden
Arvika
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the answers!

We were a bit suspicious since it felt too nice for EH. Anyway, you still get hit by the "Sealing the portal" encounters, since they refer directly to solved mysteries, so not entirely free of consequences.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.