Dave Walsh
msg tools
badge
I've seen a lot of discussion on how you can move and put out fire. My question is that since putting out a fire is an action, and you take damage from a fire when you perform an action...do you get burnt even when you successfully put out the fire? This is specifically for when you start your turn in a space that is already on fire, not for when you decide to move into a space with fire.

Thanks for any insight!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope. You take damage from a fire "after performing an action" so if your action eliminates the fire, "after performing" that action there is no fire left to damage you.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's described in the RRG under the Fire section:

RRG - Fire wrote:
As an action, an investigator may attempt to extinguish the flames
by testing his agility. For each success result he rolls,
he may discard Fire from his space or a space he moves into later
during the round.
• Fire discarded by this effect does not cause the investigator
to suffer Damage.


The dot point covers taking the Extinguish Fire action as well as moving into spaces containing fire.

Thus, if you roll no successes in a space with fire, or you choose not to remove the fire in your space, you will suffer 1 damage for taking a non-Move action. If you do remove the token, you won't suffer damage for it.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Walsh
msg tools
badge
I don't know how I missed that. Thanks for the help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Boehland
United States
Apple Valley
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Clipper wrote:
It's described in the RRG under the Fire section:

RRG - Fire wrote:
As an action, an investigator may attempt to extinguish the flames
by testing his agility. For each success result he rolls,
he may discard Fire from his space or a space he moves into later
during the round.
• Fire discarded by this effect does not cause the investigator
to suffer Damage.


The dot point covers taking the Extinguish Fire action as well as moving into spaces containing fire.

Thus, if you roll no successes in a space with fire, or you choose not to remove the fire in your space, you will suffer 1 damage for taking a non-Move action. If you do remove the token, you won't suffer damage for it.


Thanks for all your help with people asking questions on various games.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dean L
United Kingdom
Coventry
West Midlands
flag msg tools
reverendunclebastard wrote:
Nope. You take damage from a fire "after performing an action" so if your action eliminates the fire, "after performing" that action there is no fire left to damage you.


Hmm. Conversely then, do you take damage for the action of setting a fire, as it's checked after the action resolves?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Deano2099 wrote:
Hmm. Conversely then, do you take damage for the action of setting a fire, as it's checked after the action resolves?


The full rule is:

RRG - Fire wrote:
After an investigator in a space containing Fire performs an action
other than the move action, if there is Fire in his space, he suffers
one facedown Damage.

That implies that the fire must be there both before and after the action for you to suffer damage.

And, of course, you wouldn't take damage if you set it in an adjacent space. And before anyone asks, yes you can set a fire through a door or secret passage, but not through a wall. I hadn't thought of it before, but we have thus found our way to attack monsters on other sides of doors, albeit only for one damage when they next activate.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Rindfleisch
United States
Bristol
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sometimes that 1 damage is exactly what you need
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.