Subject: Struggling to grasp opening strategy rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Fruit Eating Bear
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm quite new to D:R and CCGs in general, but I love the theme of this one so much. I absolutely want to love it, but I'm getting so frustrated at the learning curve. My current problem concerns the first couple of rounds. I use decks I find on DTDB and inevitably I run out of money and don't have the ability to do much of anything. I might have a setup of, say, three ghost rock and an outlay of two. If I lose the lowball I'm back to square one, with no money to put out deeds (and sometimes I get no deeds at all in my opening hand. I understand a huckster can help there, but still.)

There's a scarcity of how-to videos out there. I've watched as many as I can find, but I'm still none the wiser. What's your contingency plan for not having enough money and/or deeds to get a good start?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Fruit Eating Bear wrote:
I might have a setup of, say, three ghost rock and an outlay of two.

Yeah, don't do that. Start with cheaper people and less upkeep.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
soulblight
Canada
Ottawa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Which decks did you netdeck?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fruit Eating Bear
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have 2x base sets and the first 6 expansions. I used Thanee's sets that made four usable decks from the first three of these expansions. I also tried the recommended ones in the rules.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
soulblight
Canada
Ottawa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't have those deck lists in front of me.

There must be some combination of dudes you can use in your starting posse that reduces upkeep. If not then you can alter the decks.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Teeka
Netherlands
Naarden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb