Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
19 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Engaging and attacking rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex Asmus
msg tools
Hey all,

Apologies if this has already been asked. I finished reading through the rules and the one thing I found unclear has to do with engaging and fighting since they are two separate actions. Do I have to engage an enemy at a location before being able to attack it? If I don't have to engage the enemy to attack, and don't end up defeating it, then am I in turn engaged? Or does it remain at that location?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Keddie
Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
You do not have to be engaged with an enemy to attack it. However being engaged with an enemy prevents it attacking another party member (or pursuing them with its "Prey" rule if it has one).

Any enemy in the same location as a hunter will automatically engage you unless it is either: already engaged, exhausted, or has the "Aloof" special rule. That means that any exhausted enemies will engage during the upkeep phase when they Ready if there are any Investigators at that location. It also means if you enter a location with an enemy there, it will immediately engage you if it does not fulfil one or more of the above criteria.

EDIT: I can't remember right now how "Massive" interacts with engagement. I know you don't move into a threatened area, but I think it counts as being engaged with all investigators as long as it's ready.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Haskell
United States
Springfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

From the Rules Reference, Fight:

An investigator may fight any enemy at his or her location, including: an enemy he or she is engaged with, an unengaged enemy at the same location, or an enemy engaged with another investigator who is at the same location.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Keddie
Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Also, attacking an enemy engaged with another investigator runs the risk of wounding that investigator if the attack fails.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Kassel
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Enemies don't ready in the Enemy Phase. They do so in the upkeep phase. This means newly engaged investigators will have their action phase to deal with this before enemy attacks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dax is
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Renegade626 wrote:
Hey all,

Apologies if this has already been asked. I finished reading through the rules and the one thing I found unclear has to do with engaging and fighting since they are two separate actions. Do I have to engage an enemy at a location before being able to attack it? If I don't have to engage the enemy to attack, and don't end up defeating it, then am I in turn engaged? Or does it remain at that location?

Thanks!


Keep in mind that as soon as you are in a room with an unengaged, readied enemy it will engage you automatically.

You can attack any enemy in the same location no matter whom it is engaged with but if the enemy is engaged with another investigator and you fail you attack then you do your damage to the other investigator instead.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Keddie
Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Tom Kassel wrote:
Enemies don't ready in the Enemy Phase. They do so in the upkeep phase. This means newly engaged investigators will have their action phase to deal with this before enemy attacks.


D'oh! This is what I meant, I'll go back and fix. Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Immortal
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
mb
can an investigator engage a weakness enemy that has "prey: brearer only " who is engaged with an other investigator?

My guess would be no but i want to be sure
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard A. Edwards
United States
Lacey
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nightwishpower wrote:
can an investigator engage a weakness enemy that has "prey: brearer only " who is engaged with an other investigator?

My guess would be no but i want to be sure


The answer is yes.

"Other investigators may use the engage action or card abilities to engage the enemy." From "Prey", page 17, Rules Reference.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Immortal
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
mb
but what about the golden rule? If a card contradict a rule in the rules book the card win?


ah nevermind, i guess the "bearer only" was only to choose the target of the prey. It doenst mean it cant be changed after.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Donghi
Italy
Near Milan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Prey and Bearer are restrictions to enemy actions. Nowhere it says it's applying any kind of restrictions to the investigators.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mortego
United States
New Kensington
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Missed this part:

So, during the "Enemy Phase" when an enemy attacks an investigator....how does that work? The enemy draws from the chaos bag? Or it automatically deals damage to the investigator (as per the health & sanity symbols on it)?

I missed what page those rules are on...soblue
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Shudde M'ell
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
killerjoe1962 wrote:
Missed this part:

So, during the "Enemy Phase" when an enemy attacks an investigator....how does that work? The enemy draws from the chaos bag? Or it automatically deals damage to the investigator (as per the health & sanity symbols on it)?

I missed what page those rules are on...soblue


It just deals damage. One way to think of it thematically is that Enemy "dodge" is reflected by the uncertainty of the Investigator Chaos Bag, while Investigator "dodge" is covered by the ability of Investigators to Evade.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
killerjoe1962 wrote:
Missed this part:

So, during the "Enemy Phase" when an enemy attacks an investigator....how does that work? The enemy draws from the chaos bag? Or it automatically deals damage to the investigator (as per the health & sanity symbols on it)?

I missed what page those rules are on...soblue

Learn to Play guide, page 12, under The Enemy Phase:
Quote:
2. Enemy attacks. Each ready, engaged enemy makes an attack against the investigator with which it is engaged. The investigators resolve enemy attacks in player order.
When an enemy attacks, deal both its damage and its horror, simultaneously, to the engaged investigator.


Rules Reference, page 25, under III Enemy Phase:
Quote:
Each ready, engaged enemy makes an attack against the investigator to which it is engaged. When an enemy attacks, deal its attack (both its damage and its horror, simultaneously) to the engaged investigator.


So, it automatically deals it's Damage and Horror amounts to the Investigator it is engaged with, without a Chaos Token draw.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryucoo
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
(sorry, old-ish thread)

So, what exactly is the point of 'engaging' an enemy? Is it ONLY to draw it off another investigator? What is even the point of the whole 'engaging' thing anyway? As far as I can tell you get engaged automatically anyway, so for the 'engage' rule to even work, you'd need to disengage (by an action or evade test). In which case, wouldn't it have been simpler to just skip the whole 'engage' palaver (i.e. don't have a key word for it, where people end up checking if they are engaged or not) and just keep the simple action 'evade'?

I dunno, its just so convoluted the whole engage thing. Maybe I'm stupid, but its the thing that sees us plough through the rule books more than most.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Shudde M'ell
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ryucoo wrote:
(sorry, old-ish thread)

So, what exactly is the point of 'engaging' an enemy? Is it ONLY to draw it off another investigator? What is even the point of the whole 'engaging' thing anyway? As far as I can tell you get engaged automatically anyway, so for the 'engage' rule to even work, you'd need to disengage (by an action or evade test). In which case, wouldn't it have been simpler to just skip the whole 'engage' palaver (i.e. don't have a key word for it, where people end up checking if they are engaged or not) and just keep the simple action 'evade'?

I dunno, its just so convoluted the whole engage thing. Maybe I'm stupid, but its the thing that sees us plough through the rule books more than most.


It is convoluted, and it is a rare action. There are occasions, like against Aloof enemies and for Zoey to pick up a Resource and/or use her Cross. Parley and Resign are similar in that there is no "normal" way to use them, so reading just the Rules makes me feel like I'm missing something. If it weren't for BGG, I'd probably be playing some rules wrong even now, a year after "learning the rules".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Giroir
United States
Mission Viejo
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ryucoo wrote:
(sorry, old-ish thread)

So, what exactly is the point of 'engaging' an enemy? Is it ONLY to draw it off another investigator? What is even the point of the whole 'engaging' thing anyway? As far as I can tell you get engaged automatically anyway, so for the 'engage' rule to even work, you'd need to disengage (by an action or evade test). In which case, wouldn't it have been simpler to just skip the whole 'engage' palaver (i.e. don't have a key word for it, where people end up checking if they are engaged or not) and just keep the simple action 'evade'?

I dunno, its just so convoluted the whole engage thing. Maybe I'm stupid, but its the thing that sees us plough through the rule books more than most.


There are also enemies that don't engage automatically that you might want to engage for various reasons.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bern Godfrey
France
Lissac
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And weapons like machete, that give damage bonuses for being engaged.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon H
United States
Orion Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A Phantom of Truth was released today. It contains a pretty wild card that very much benefits from being engaged.
Spoiler (click to reveal)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.