$30.00
$15.00
$5.00
$20.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Disengage details rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Milo Gertjejansen
United States
Hopkins
Minnesota
flag msg tools
~ >
badge
mbmbmbmb
Hey all,

I have played three games so far and disengage came up in two of them.

If I understand correctly does disengaging just return the enemy to the location, unexhausted?

Following that if there is an investigator there after the disengage (including yourself) will that enemy just reengage right away?

If there is a page in the rules reference for this please point me to it, but I didn't see anything in the index.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Haskell
United States
Springfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

From the RR, Enemy Engagement:

"Any time a ready unengaged enemy is at the same location
as an investigator, it engages that investigator, and is placed
in that investigator’s threat area. If there are multiple investigators at the same location as a ready unengaged enemy, follow the enemy’s prey instructions to determine which investigator is engaged. ere is no limit on the number of enemies that can be engaged with a single investigator."

So, if you break an engagement but leave the enemy ready, it will simply re-engage, possibly with you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard A. Edwards
United States
Lacey
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
What card effect is causing "disengagement" but not allowing movement or evasion?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Kassel
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
If you disengage with the Evade action, the enemy is exhausted so cannot re-engage. If you use the Elusive event, you move away to an adjacent location so again, the enemy cannot re-engage immediately.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allan Clements
Norway
Oslo
flag msg tools
Turns out Esseb did touch the flag. Don't tell him I said so though.
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, as disengage doesnt exhaust but usually comes with something that makes you move,
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allan Clements
Norway
Oslo
flag msg tools
Turns out Esseb did touch the flag. Don't tell him I said so though.
mbmbmbmbmb
Nothing in the rules it seems so whst i said makes sense but might be made up
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Milo Gertjejansen
United States
Hopkins
Minnesota
flag msg tools
~ >
badge
mbmbmbmb
SirRoke wrote:
What card effect is causing "disengagement" but not allowing movement or evasion?


None that I found, but in theory.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
CAn you move to another location while engaged with an enemy?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dusty
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
vdaoine wrote:
CAn you move to another location while engaged with an enemy?


Sure, if you don't mind that enemy making an Attack of Opportunity against you and staying engaged with you at your new location.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
miloshot wrote:
SirRoke wrote:
What card effect is causing "disengagement" but not allowing movement or evasion?


None that I found, but in theory.

Yes, in theory it would reengage right away. Barring specific Prey keywords, that might not be with you though, so if our theoretical non-movement disengage effect is Fast, it might still be beneficial over the intended target just engaging the enemy with an action.

(It'd probably still be a marginal card though)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.