Victor Ortex
msg tools
Hello, fellow browncoats and sympathizers.

After our first game this afternoon, the FAQ and forum posts left us some open questions.

Does Shepherd Book "spend" his collected enemy tokens when he uses them to prevent spawns or does he just keep collecting them on and on, only losing them by event cards like Folk Song and Raiding Party? Do they ever return to the defeated pool? What happens to Book's enemy tokens if he is knocked out?

If Jayne is the Sidekick, will an ammo reload by gear or scrounging fill either his ammo or the BDH's or both, if the amount of ammo is high enough? If both, even with an Ammo Full-Clip card? The FAQ entry about Jayne in the rulebook isn't clear about that.

On rolling "1" for movement, does the timer's shift and its consequences happen before or after the movement, or at the player's discretion? If a timer-induced spawn happens before movement and in LOS of the moving player, does the player have to battle immediately, thus losing his movement?

Can you retreat through allies' spaces? Are they considered "clear" for this purpose, as long as you don't stop there?

The end of a battle also ends the battling player's turn. Is there a kind of "leap second" between the end of the battle and the beginning of the next player's turn in which the former player can use skills or gear? For example, can you use a Medkit right after your own battle?

Can gear with two uses be swapped between players after one use, retaining one use for the other player? (We houseruled yes, because all such items we encountered like the Browncoat and the Medkit didn't prevent that realistically.)

Thanks for any enlightenment.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Toy Vault Inc.
United States
Kentucky
flag msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmb
Quote:
Does Shepherd Book "spend" his collected enemy tokens when he uses them to prevent spawns or does he just keep collecting them on and on, only losing them by event cards like Folk Song and Raiding Party? Do they ever return to the defeated pool? What happens to Book's enemy tokens if he is knocked out?

Shepherd doesn't spend his tokens. If Book is knocked out the tokens return to the defeated pool.

Quote:

If Jayne is the Sidekick, will an ammo reload by gear or scrounging fill either his ammo or the BDH's or both, if the amount of ammo is high enough? If both, even with an Ammo Full-Clip card? The FAQ entry about Jayne in the rulebook isn't clear about that.


It is considered a separate track, so the full clip would either fill the sidekick track or the BDH track. This also applies to Simon's sidekick health track. Munitions Pack and Trauma Kit will fill up the respective sidekick tracks as well.

Quote:

On rolling "1" for movement, does the timer's shift and its consequences happen before or after the movement, or at the player's discretion? If a timer-induced spawn happens before movement and in LOS of the moving player, does the player have to battle immediately, thus losing his movement?

From the rulebook: After advancing the Timer, the player must resolve the event before moving their avatar.

So you are correct the player would lose their movement.

Quote:

Can you retreat through allies' spaces? Are they considered "clear" for this purpose, as long as you don't stop there?


yes

Quote:

The end of a battle also ends the battling player's turn. Is there a kind of "leap second" between the end of the battle and the beginning of the next player's turn in which the former player can use skills or gear? For example, can you use a Medkit right after your own battle?


You may play on your turn gear cards at the end or during a battle before the next player's turn.

Quote:

Can gear with two uses be swapped between players after one use, retaining one use for the other player? (We houseruled yes, because all such items we encountered like the Browncoat and the Medkit didn't prevent that realistically.)


Yes it can. It doesn't restore the used charge however.






 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Victor Ortex
msg tools
toyvaultinc wrote:

From the rulebook: After advancing the Timer, the player must resolve the event before moving their avatar.

Yes it can. It doesn't restore the used charge however.

We actually missed that despite reading the rules multiple times. cool

Thanks for the answers!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.