$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Charlie Kane; travel action; recipient travels to monster/gate space rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Guy Heinz
United States
Kenockee
MI
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Charlie Kane uses his ability to give Lily Chen a travel action (she hasn't traveled prior in the round). She travels to a gate with a monster space. It is not her turn as she already took her turn this round.
1) Must she now encounter the monster?

2) If she defeats the monster, can she then try to close the gate?

3) Nothing happens (I doubt this) as it is not Lily Chens turn.

4) During Charlie Kane's encounter phase, Lily must encounter monster and can then attempt to close gate?


Guy
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon C
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sounds like you're mis-playing the turn order sequence. From your question, it sounds like your round (if Charlie and Lily are the only characters) is going Lily actions, Lily encounter, Charlie actions, Charlie encounter.

However, this isn't how it should play. All players take actions in the action phase, then there is the encounter phase when all players have encounters. So the turn would go Lily actions, Charlie actions, Lily encounter, Charlie encounter. With this the answer to your question should be obvious (Lily encounters the things where she ends up Only, regardless of whether she got a move via Charlie or not).

Hope that helps!
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Davy Ashleydale
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It could also be that Guy is doing the turn sequence correctly -- action, action, encounter, encounter -- but he might just be mistakenly considering the monster fight to be part of the movement action.

So, Guy, in addition to Simon's explanation, make sure that you're not running the Combats right after an investigator moves onto a space containing a monster. Combats are part of the Encounter phase, not the Action phase.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.