Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Terraforming Mars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Placing Tiles from Cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Charles Simon
United States
Ashley
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a question pertaining to when a card directs you to place a tile. I know that the rules state that when directed to place a tile from a card you follow the rules for placing a tile as per the Standard Project rules. However, if the card marks the action with an asterisk, then to follow the special rules on the card.

My question is:

Do the rules on the card supersede ALL of the Standard Project rules, or just the ones listed?

For example, according to the Standard Project rules, when you place a city tile, you increase your MegaCredit production by one step.

However, I am curious then about each of the following types of situations:

1. The RESEARCH OUTPOST card has you place a city tile and it is asterisked and it reads "Place a city tile NEXT TO NO OTHER CITY." Does this mean that you do not increase your MegaCredit production?

2. The card PROTECTED VALLEY has you place a greenery tile and it is asterisked with the wording "...Place a greenery tile ON AN AREA RESERVED FOR OCEAN, disregarding normal placement restrictions, and increase oxygen 1 step." If the text supersedes all of the Standard Placement rules, does that mean that you do NOT increase your TR rating by 1 step since that is omitted?

3. The card NOCTIS CITY has you place a city tile (on the reserved area) and it also has you increase your MegaCredit production by 3 steps. If we ARE applying the Standard Project rules as well, do you increase your MegaCredit production by one additional step for placing the city tile, for a total of 4 steps?


And, on a similar note, the Corporation THARSIS REPUBLIC gives you the effect of when any city tile is placed on Mars, increase your MegaCredit production 1 step. I would assume then that this does NOT supersede the rules when you use a Standard Project and the MegaCredit increase when YOU place a city tile via Standard Projects would give you a 2 MegaCredit increase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick P.
Germany
Munich
Bavaria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Placing a city tile doesn't automatically let you increase MC-production. The standard project for cities only let's you increase your MC-production because that project specifically say so (there is an icon for that there). It's not a general rule, it's just what this specific project does.

Cards that let you place city tiles only let you increase MC-production if they say so, too. If they don't say so, you don't do it.

So the answers are:
1) No increase in MC-production.

3) MC-production increases by 3, as the card says.

To 2)
The card says "disregard standard placement restrictions", but to increase the oxygen level by one for placing a greenery tile and increasing your TR-rating is not a "placement restriction", so it is not disregarded.

On THARSIS and standard project cities: The increase stacks, so you'd get an increase of 2 if you place a city tile yourself as a standard project.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Florian Ruckeisen
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
thinwhiteduke wrote:
Do the rules on the card supersede ALL of the Standard Project rules, or just the ones listed?

Only the ones listed.

Also, the normal placement and effect rules are really tiles rules, not Standard Project rules. Using a Standard Project is just one way to lay ocean, greenery, or city tiles.

This distinction is especially important for cities, because the +1 M€ production, as Nick pointed out, is part of the Standard Project "City", not part of "whenever you place a city tile" - that's why the Standard Project "City" has two distinct icons; a city tile and an M€ prod increase.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mister mystery
msg tools
thinwhiteduke wrote:

2. The card PROTECTED VALLEY has you place a greenery tile and it is asterisked with the wording "...Place a greenery tile ON AN AREA RESERVED FOR OCEAN, disregarding normal placement restrictions, and increase oxygen 1 step." If the text supersedes all of the Standard Placement rules, does that mean that you do NOT increase your TR rating by 1 step since that is omitted?


Does this mean oxygen increase by 2 in total? as any green tyle lets you increase oxygen?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Stückl
Germany
flag msg tools
mb
MisterMystery wrote:
thinwhiteduke wrote:

2. The card PROTECTED VALLEY has you place a greenery tile and it is asterisked with the wording "...Place a greenery tile ON AN AREA RESERVED FOR OCEAN, disregarding normal placement restrictions, and increase oxygen 1 step." If the text supersedes all of the Standard Placement rules, does that mean that you do NOT increase your TR rating by 1 step since that is omitted?


Does this mean oxygen increase by 2 in total? as any green tyle lets you increase oxygen?


No, the text is just a reminder to also increase the oxygen level. If an extra increase was intended there would be an Oxygen symbol on the card
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.