$15.00
$5.00
$20.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Great Western Trail» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rewards for buildings rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Oliver Fries
Netherlands
Zwolle
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
On the map there are seven places where you can build buildings that show Some rewards marked white. I cannot find the reference in the rules. When will you get this reward? At the moment you place the building or evertime you use the building?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob
Germany
cologne
NRW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This are bonus actions called "risk actios". You use them while using the local actions of a building. Details can be found on page 7 in the english rulebook.
6 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oliver Fries
Netherlands
Zwolle
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the information.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert
Germany
Bocholt
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The problem is that these spaces are along the hazardous pathes, so to use a building you put there, you'll likely pass a hazard or more and have to pay. You can also rely on your opponents to a) put more of the relevant hazard there as soon as they can and b) never remove one of the relevant hazards when they can. In my (very limited) experience few if any players will build there - maybe the extra actions would be worth it, but so far none of us tried. Towards the end, we would rather upgrade our buildings on the safe pathes than building new ones on the hazardous pathes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Greisz
United States
McKinney
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DocCool wrote:
The problem is that these spaces are along the hazardous pathes, so to use a building you put there, you'll likely pass a hazard or more and have to pay. You can also rely on your opponents to a) put more of the relevant hazard there as soon as they can and b) never remove one of the relevant hazards when they can. In my (very limited) experience few if any players will build there - maybe the extra actions would be worth it, but so far none of us tried. Towards the end, we would rather upgrade our buildings on the safe pathes than building new ones on the hazardous pathes.

Our first game was like that too. But our 2nd game we had one player build 2 buildings on the water route. Both of which included advancement. With one stop he was able to move his temporary certificates up twice, as well as collecting enough money to pay for the hazards on the way. One of the buildings was draw and discard, so he generally had enough 1's to pay for both stops. He came in first, so we will be looking to stop that in the future.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.