Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Clank!: A Deck-Building Adventure» Forums » Rules

Subject: Timing questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jordan Booth
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So I know that the game is supposed to be really generous and forgiving when it comes to timing, I would just like a few clarifications on two specific scenarios that both have to do with gaining info from secrets.

1) If I move through at tunnel with a monster to reveal a secret that gives me a sword, can I use that sword to cancel the monster damage or do I have to have spent the sword at the moment I moved through the tunnel? If yes, can I still do it if the monster tunnel wasn't the most recent tunnel (still same turn of course)?

2) If I reveal a secret that has me draw three cards when I'm at the end of my deck, can I quickly buy something before I reshuffle? Can I completely or partially decline the card draws?

Thanks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Clautice
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Although you can do things in pretty much any order, you do have to pay the costs for those actions as you do them - including taking damage for any monsters you run past. If you later pick up a potion, it can't retroactively help you fight through the tunnel you just came through.

2) The description of the draw-three-cards secret on the back page of the rules says "Immediately," so there is no chance to buy cards before drawing - and you must draw all three cards.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Crumb Justice
msg tools
mb
I don't think you have to hurry. I believe the cards you had at the beginning of your turn are in effect until the end of your turn, even if you shuffle them away to form a new draw pile in the middle of your turn.

If that isn't the case, then I think you should be allowed to keep those juicy cards for the rest of your turn, and only shuffle the non-essential cards away. To be robbed of good cards feels like a gyp and isn't necessary to make the game function.

In other deck builders, when you need to recycle your discard pile to form a new draw pile, that never requires you to give up cards you were planning to use that turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Hendee
United States
Frisco
Texas
flag msg tools
I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Whenever you become anxious or stressed, outer purpose has taken over, and you have lost sight of your inner purpose. Your state of consciousness is primary. All else is secondary.
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Crumbo wrote:
I don't think you have to hurry. I believe the cards you had at the beginning of your turn are in effect until the end of your turn, even if you shuffle them away to form a new draw pile in the middle of your turn.

If that isn't the case, then I think you should be allowed to keep those juicy cards for the rest of your turn, and only shuffle the non-essential cards away. To be robbed of good cards feels like a gyp and isn't necessary to make the game function.

In other deck builders, when you need to recycle your discard pile to form a new draw pile, that never requires you to give up cards you were planning to use that turn.


If you have to shuffle your discards in the middle of your turn, do not include any cards played that turn. They are not discarded yet.

"Once you’ve played all of your cards and used as much of your resources as you want to, your turn ends. Put all of the
cards you played into your discard pile and draw five new cards in preparation for your next turn. Any Skill, Swords, or
Boots you don’t use are wasted, so make them count!"
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.