Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Ryan
United States
Westminster
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I see the video reviews (Rahdo and Man vs. Meeple) and want this game. A frenzy appears to be forming. There is a lot of debate about its chances of selling out. Factions form on both sides of the question. Knives are drawn and insults hurled. And what does “selling out” mean, anyhow? How many does that mean? It turns out it means about 15,000 units. No, it turns out maybe means 30,000 units. But which wave? And which shipment? One or Two? Will I get Shipment 1, Wave 2, or will I get Shipment 2, Wave 1? And which is better? Factions are probably forming on this topic, too, but I do not wait to find out. I am going to set myself a reminder on my Mac so I don't miss my chance. I will be patient in any case and wait for my game

I set the calendar “reminder” to order Mechs vs. Minions for the anticipated day! But my day job is running my guitar business, so I cannot be guaranteed that I will be able to drop everything I am doing to log on and order this game. So I set the timer for a few minutes early—09:55 a.m. here on the California coast. This ensures I can plan my morning so as to be “free” to sneak past my wife in the office to complete the “mission” at 10:00 sharp.

My reminder goes off on my iPhone. I have 5 minutes to get to the Riot Website. And being the savvy business owner I am, the site is now bookmarked on my Mac. This mission is going to run with military precision and brilliant planning.

I head to the Mac, log on to Riot, and click the orange “Purchase Now” button in the upper, right-hand corner of my screen. I cannot know this at the time, but I would become wonderfully familiar with that button throughout the course of this long day. By the end of the day I am certain I could boot my Mac, navigate to Riot, and click that orange button, all with my eyes closed. But the day is early, and I am still filled with hope.