$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Caylus» Forums » Rules

Subject: castle scoring rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
mike iapezzuto
United States
bronx
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Let's say we score the castle dungeon before the Bailiff reaches the dungeon scoring space by filling up the dungeon part of the castle,when the Bailiff reaches the dungeon scoring space do we score the dungeon again?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mike iapezzuto
United States
bronx
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks guys.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Indenture Forlife
msg tools
You should not score the castle sections until the Bailiff reaches the 'scoring space', even if it is filled.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nacho Facello
Uruguay
Montevideo
Montevideo
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What? No. You score each section only once. You score it either when the bailiff reaches the corresponding scoring space or when the section fills up, whatever happens first.

From the Rio Grande rules:

Quote:
Phase 7 - End of the turn
The bailiff moves along the road. He always moves forward
(consequently, he moves away from the castle). He may move
on empty spaces. His movement is determined by the provost’s
current position:
- If the provost is located after the bailiff along the road (that
is, farther away from the castle), the bailiff moves 2 spaces
forward.
- If the provost is located before the bailiff along the road (that
is, closer to the castle) or on the same space, the bailiff only
advances by 1 space.
Once the bailiff has moved, place the provost on the space the
bailiff has just reached. Then, see if a count is necessary: if the
bailiff, during his move, reached or went past Dungeon count,
Walls count, Towers count spaces, or if a section has been
completed during this turn, proceed to count (in any case, there
will only be one count per section).



Edit: link to rules: http://riograndegames.com/getFile.php?id=711
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Humulus Lupulus
United States
Andover
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow, lots of wrong answers here. Nacho is correct. You score when the Bailiff reaches the scoring space or when the section is filled, whichever happens first. In your example, you would not again score it when the Bailiff reaches the dungeon space.

This means the game can end prior to the Bailiff advancing to the Tower space on the path if the Tower section is filled with batches prior to this.

Edit: here is the relevant section in the rules:
Quote:
Once the bailiff has moved, place the provost on the space the
bailiff has just reached. Then, see if a count is necessary: if the
bailiff, during his move, reached or went past Dungeon count,
Walls count, Towers count spaces, or if a section has been
completed during this turn, proceed to count (in any case, there
will only be one count per section).

[Section on the count (i.e. scoring)]

...When the count is over, wherever the bailiff may be on the
road, the player must now concentrate on the next section of
the castle, even if there are some empty spaces left in the section
that has just been counted. If the section of the Towers has
just been counted, the game is over.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Bush
United States
West Linn
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Indenture wrote:
You should not score the castle sections until the Bailiff reaches the 'scoring space', even if it is filled.

This is wrong, you score the castle sections only once, and there are the two conditions mentioned, either when the bailiff reaches the scoreing space or when the castle section is filled score it immediately.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Liallan G
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
How about we make it 4 to 2 in favor of nachof. Although hopefully enough of the rules have been provided to safely trust that answer.

And I hope OP comes back.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Moffett
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Phase 6 - Buiding of the castle

The players gains prestige points whenever they help build the
castle:
- for each batch they provide to build the Dungeon, the player
gains 5 prestige points,
- for each batch they provide to build the Walls, the player gains
4 prestige points,
- for each batch they provide to build the Towers, the player
gains 3 prestige points.
Finally, you determine which player has provided the most
batches during this turn (in other words, which player has
placed the most houses). This player immediately gains 1 royal
favor (see below). If several players are tied, the one who
arrived first gains the favor.

Phase 7 - End of the turn
The bailiff moves along the road.
Once the bailiff has moved, place the provost on the space the
bailiff has just reached. Then, see if a count is necessary: if the
bailiff, during his move, reached or went past Dungeon count,
Walls count, Towers count spaces, or if a section has been
completed during this turn, proceed to count (in any case, there
will only be one count per section).

Counts :

According to the section (the Dungeon, the Walls or the Towers)
you are counting, each player, following the turn order,
counts the number of castle parts they have built (that is, the
number of houses they have placed in the given section) and
refers to the corresponding count table. If you are counting a
section while houses have already been placed in the next
section because of the lack of room, the latter houses are not
taken into account.


Basically, you score in the Castle in Phase 6 AND Phase 7 (only when the Bailiff activates it, or when each section is full)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Liallan G
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Mofman wrote:

Basically, you score in the Castle in Phase 6 AND Phase 7 (only when the Bailiff activates it, or when each section is full)

More wrong (or more like irrelevant) answers. OP is not referring to scoring the basic building on the castle that can happen in all rounds. i.e. not the scoring of each house placed, and scored at the time of placement. He's referring to the scoring of the dungeon, i.e. the "scoring" of favors that happens for each section of the castle only once. There's a definitive difference between these two.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Moffett
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Liallan wrote:
Mofman wrote:

Basically, you score in the Castle in Phase 6 AND Phase 7 (only when the Bailiff activates it, or when each section is full)

More wrong (or more like irrelevant) answers. OP is not referring to scoring the basic building on the castle that can happen in all rounds. i.e. not the scoring of each house placed, and scored at the time of placement. He's referring to the scoring of the dungeon, i.e. the "scoring" of favors that happens for each section of the castle only once. There's a definitive difference between these two.


They are not wrong answers. I was copying what the rules say. Did you not read it?

In answer to the OP question then, the answer is: No. You do not score again once the Bailiff reaches the scoring space if you have already scored when the dungeon was full.

I hope that makes it clear?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Liallan G
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Mofman wrote:

They are not wrong answers. I was copying what the rules say. Did you not read it?

If you want to get picky, I didn't read it thoroughly, no, because I know the rules, thanks. I read enough to know what you copied and that it included Phase 6 scoring, which is not the answer to OP's question. Which was my point - did you not read it?

While the rules are not incorrect, if someone reads that as an answer to the question, it could be confused and therefore taken the wrong way. Considering that other incorrect responses were posted, this could just make it even more confusing to straighten out the right answer.

I wrote "or more like irrelevant" for a reason.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.