$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

The Hunters: German U-Boats at War, 1939-43» Forums » Rules

Subject: Another Escort Detection - how to use DRM? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lukasz Nidzgorski
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When I read rulebook in 9.6.6. I get a feeling that I should use the same DRMs for another Escort Detection as for the first Detection. It's a bit illogical to use all of DRMs, for example: I use G7a in close range at day. I get +2 DRM. Ok. After surviving first charges I roll for second Escort Detection. Rules say I should add +1 for being previously detected and use sam DRM so total it's +3. Why being in close range and firing steam torpedoes makes Escort more effective while they detecting me again - hey should already know where I was during first detection, that's why I get bad modifier for previous detection?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Wedge
United Kingdom
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you don't use the same DRMs for the initial Close Range detection as for subsequent detections. For a start, the first detection takes place before you fire torpedoes, so the fact you intend using steam torpedoes in day time is irrelevant.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max
United States
Fuquay Varina
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Reign of Fire
badge
Bombs Away! Mission 9.
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you do keep the DRM. Note I'm assuming you were detected after firing at close range, not before.

PS, 9.6.6 references trying to exceed test depth from a night surface attack. I think you meant to refer to 9.6.12.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Wedge
United Kingdom
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
xgamerms999 wrote:
Yes, you do keep the DRM. Note I'm assuming you were detected after firing at close range, not before.


Yes, you keep them, but you don't use the same ones, i.e. everything from the third item down. I got the impression the OP was applying the G7a modifier in the initial close range check.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Warren Smith
United States
West Nyack
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wedgeij wrote:
No, you don't use the same DRMs for the initial Close Range detection as for subsequent detections. For a start, the first detection takes place before you fire torpedoes, so the fact you intend using steam torpedoes in day time is irrelevant.

Right, the initial Close Range detection prior to attack does not use the same DRMs as detection attempts after the attack. However, if detected, any future detection attempts use the same DRMs (such as the one for being at Close Range) except where stated otherwise. Even if you've gone through multiple rounds of detection/depth charge combat, the DRMs for gas torpedoes and short range will stick with you until you can avoid detection completely, which near the end of the time period covered by the game can become very difficult save rolling snake-eyes.

EDIT: ninja
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lukasz Nidzgorski
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
wsmithjr wrote:
the DRMs for gas torpedoes and short range will stick with you until you can avoid detection completely


That's what bothers me. Don't you think that's illogical? You used steams, OK - Escort know your first position before they drop first charges. Now, during second detection combat goes in totally different place. Same for range.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Cooper
United States
Silver Spring
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the standard game rules, they still have a bead on you based on that initial detection. They know your previous position and they're closer, so they have a better idea of your general area because of it.

If you find the standard rules harsh, maybe you could try the rule from the Historical Mega Module, in which the rules are amended slightly to give diminishing returns to escorts after the first detection:

[9.6.8] (amendment) Once a U-Boat is detected, it undergoes a depth charge attack by rolling on the Escort/Air Attack Chart [E3]. To resolve the attack, add/ subtract all the modifiers listed under the Escort/ Air Attack Chart. In games that take place before May 1943, add a -1 modifier for every escort attack after the first, up to a maximum of -3 (this modifier is cumulative, so the second attack gets -1, the third gets -2, the fourth and every attack after gets the maximum -3). Then roll 2d6. This determines the number of Hits inflicted on the U-Boat, which can be tracked on the U-Boat Combat Mat [U4] using the Incoming Hits marker. On a modified roll of 2-3, the U-Boat suffers no damage, but it still must undergo another Escort Detection attempt. On a modified roll of 13 or more, the U-Boat is immediately sunk and the game ends. See 5.2, Determining Victory, to see how you did. If the modified roll was 4-12, a number of Hits will be inflicted on the U-Boat. Note: the modifier “KMDT is KC+O+S” means that the Kommandant has been awarded the Knight’s Cross with Oakleaves and Swords.

The idea behind this is to reflect the fact that, during the early war period, if a submarine wasn't attacked right away, the chances of it being sunk well after it dived deep were quite low.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Wedge
United Kingdom
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
nillu wrote:
wsmithjr wrote:
the DRMs for gas torpedoes and short range will stick with you until you can avoid detection completely


That's what bothers me. Don't you think that's illogical? You used steams, OK - Escort know your first position before they drop first charges. Now, during second detection combat goes in totally different place. Same for range.


First detection chance, they have a really good idea of your location thanks to the steam torps and the close range. They detect you successfully and attack.

Second detection attempt - they still know where you are, in fact thanks to having previously detected you they have an even better idea of where you are. It's not like you're going to have moved very far. But if you drop the G7a and Close Range mods, they'd now have a worse chance of detecting you second time round than they did first time round, despite having found you.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Myles Hall
msg tools
I've modified this rule. I only use the +1 Close AND -1 long range modifier on the FIRST escort detection only. My assumption is that once I'm detected the fact that I was 'close' or 'far' is irrelevant, with everything now receiving the +1 previously detected DRM. I do keep adding all the other DRMs, my 'logic' is that these other DRM's reflect that the escorts were able to pin point my exact location just that much better. To me, this rule modification just 'makes sense'.


Myles.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.