$15.00
$20.00
$5.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Maria» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hussar used on French General who is 9 spaces out of supply rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave Schmidt
Canada
Strasbourg
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We played a game of this on the weekend and I think the only thing we didn't really figure out was how the following scenario should work:

Austria's turn-
They win a battle decisively against France and push the french general to be 9 spaces out of supply
hussar phase -
Place a hussar between the general and his supply train - note - there was another route around the hussar that would take ten spaces to trace supply.
France turn - supply phase -
How does this work?
The general is flipped over to his backside regardless but is he forced to pay 9 TC if he can afford it before going out of supply during the supply check? Or does he only pay the hussars if he is in supply?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Keane
United States
Medford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
You just flip the general and take a 1 unit deduction. No TC is paid.

He only pays TC if the only possible supply route (6 spaces or less) is blocked by a hussar (in which case he doesn't flip, because he is paying to be in supply).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Aventura
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

If the only way a general can trace supply is through hussars, then TC must be paid equal to the distance from the general to the train.

If a general can't trace supply because he isn't within 6 spaces of a supply train then the hussars are irrelevant.




 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Schmidt
Canada
Strasbourg
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay thanks. We didn't really understand 'why' but we just flipped the general and didn't pay TC as it seemed silly to pay and get flipped. So I guess we played correctly even if we didn't understand the rule. Thanks for the clarification!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
richard sivel
Germany
berlin
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mb
The answer is correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.