Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Martians: A Story of Civilization» Forums » Rules

Subject: Time markers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Dijkstra
Netherlands
flag msg tools
I don't understand the this one.
1. to perform an action you must place a time marker on the board.
2. a time marker placed in a building by a player's earlier move may not perform an action in it.
3. to remove the time markers pay one time unit.

In other words every turn you pay one time marker to remove two time markers. So you have two time units in a turn????

Can someone help me with de time markers issue?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek Long
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The meeples are not time markers. They should be seen as claiming actions at a location. When you place one, you can spend 1-3 time at that location. So, if you are efficient, you will use one meeple to perform 3 time steps at one location. Then next turn you might be able to do the same. Again the next turn. Then, 4th turn, you might spend one time retrieving your meeples and place one to act for 2 more time units.

Of course, in practice you cannot be this efficient (there are not so many places where you can spend 3 time units), but you will often be able to spend 3 time with just 2 meeples, then use another meeple the next turn for a further 1 or 2 time, before spending a time to release them.

Bottom line: the meeples mark where you perform actions and do not represent the units of time you are spending there.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco
Cayman Islands
Plewiska
Wlkp
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No?!
Can't perform an action where You meeple is already present (e.g. from previous turn!) so it is impossible to play like You say.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
taus møller
Denmark
flag msg tools
arsaghar wrote:
No?!
Can't perform an action where You meeple is already present (e.g. from previous turn!) so it is impossible to play like You say.


Read it again. He is not suggesting you reuse meeples placed previous turns. He is saying that you should try to use 3 time with each meeple you place.

He is just clarifying that meeples!=time
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.