$35.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Cry Havoc» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question related to the artillery tokens and the occurrence of battles or not rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tiago Lisboa Telles Ferreira
Brazil
flag msg tools
A combat is expected in this scenario, but we are not sure if it should happen or not. Please, help us solve a question related to the artillery tokens.

Three territories are involved in the situation:

a) Foglands (adjacent to Jindar Sound and not adjacent to Ashlas Wetlands): Humans controlled - one miniature placed and one artillery built;

b) Jindar Sound (adjacent to Foglands and Ashlas Wetlands): Machines controlled - two miniatures placed;

c) Ashlas Wetlands (adjacent to Jindar Sound and not adjacent to Foglands): Machines controlled - one drone built.

Humans prepare and attack the machines during the action phase:

a) Humans do activate their artillery at Foglands and put an artillery token at Jindar; then,

b) Humans do move their single miniature from Foglands to Jindar and a battle token is put; then,

c) Machines activate their drone and kill the Human miniature located at Jindar;

How to resolve this situation?

a) Will the Human miniature removal will also result in the battle token removal? or,

b) Since the battle token had already been placed and there's still an artillery token placed as well, will the battle occur?

We do understand that buildings and tokens cannot start battles. The battle, thou, had already been declared and a battle token had already been placed. That's why I believe the battle should occur involving the Machines' miniature and the Humans' artillery token, but we really want to hear the community's opinion.

Thanks in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Maisonneuve
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It is in the rules. If there was a battle and then one side unit get all removed before the battle, you remove the battle token and it is as if no battle ever occured there.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric B
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
To be more specific, from the rule book page 10 section 4. Battle Resolution.

Quote:
... If for any reason during
the Action phase, all Units from one player in a Region
with a Battle token are eliminated prior to Battle
Resolution, a Battle does not take place. Immediately
remove the Battle token and place a Control token for
the player with Units remaining.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Derderian
United States
Troy
Michigan
flag msg tools
greasedonkey wrote:
To be more specific, from the rule book page 10 section 4. Battle Resolution.

Quote:
... If for any reason during
the Action phase, all Units from one player in a Region
with a Battle token are eliminated prior to Battle
Resolution, a Battle does not take place. Immediately
remove the Battle token and place a Control token for
the player with Units remaining.


And as a result you do not get the 2 VPs for taking control since there was no battle.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.