$20.00
$60.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Conan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Teleporting through walls rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Artur Biesiadowski
msg tools
Can you use teleport spell to move through walls? On one side it just says 'adjacent space' and nothing about line of sight. On other side, it feels like you should see target space, even if it is not targeted explicitly...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hankeys deef
msg tools
Yes you can teleport through walls.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
abies wrote:
Can you use teleport spell to move through walls? On one side it just says 'adjacent space' and nothing about line of sight. On other side, it feels like you should see target space, even if it is not targeted explicitly...


As a point of reference, see the Wall Wrecker skill, which also uses the word "adjacent" and refers to breaking through a wall to an adjacent space. Ergo, spaces separated by walls must be adjacent (even though they block LOS).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thanee
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
For what it's worth, I played the mage in a demo game at Spiel 2016 in Essen and asked this very question, and there it was said, that you can move through walls with Teleport, no problem. A great way to scout huts and look for the princess in the first scenario.

Bye
Thanee
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank BLACKFIRE
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
From another thread :

sgbeal wrote:
There's no explicit limitation that Teleport can only be used once per turn.

Just remember Hadrathus spends 1 gem each time he activates "teleportation".
So to visit a hut within 2 areas, he activates the spell with 1 gem and spends 1 gem per area crossed (so 3 gems).
He wants to visit a second hut within 2 areas, so 1 gem to activate and 2 for the distance (so 3 other gems).

Teleportation is a gem burner !

sgbeal wrote:
Do hut walls block adjacency for purposes of teleporting?

No, you can teleport your character where you want...remembering 1 gem to activate then 1 gem per area crossed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Pallantides wrote:
From another thread :

sgbeal wrote:
There's no explicit limitation that Teleport can only be used once per turn.

Just remember Hadrathus spends 1 gem each time he activates "teleportation".
So to visit a hut within 2 areas, he activates the spell with 1 gem and spends 1 gem per area crossed (so 3 gems).
He wants to visit a second hut within 2 areas, so 1 gem to activate and 2 for the distance (so 3 other gems).

Teleportation is a gem burner !


i came up with another question about this: is the caster of Teleport considered to have stopped in each space he passes through? e.g. if he spends enough gems at once to pass through 3 huts (without stopping in the first 2), can he determine whether the Princess is in each of those huts, or does he have to "end" his teleportation in a hut before he can reveal anything hidden in it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank BLACKFIRE
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sgbeal wrote:
I came up with another question about this: is the caster of Teleport considered to have stopped in each space he passes through? e.g. if he spends enough gems at once to pass through 3 huts (without stopping in the first 2), can he determine whether the Princess is in each of those huts, or does he have to "end" his teleportation in a hut before he can reveal anything hidden in it?

NO !
You count areas only to determine the number of gems to use. The area where is the hero is "the start" and the desired area to teleport "the finish". You don't visit or stop the move in each crossed areas. So you can only see the princesse in "the finish" area.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loig Roumois
Switzerland
Baden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
why? I disagree.
you could teleport into a hut and then stay there, then another hero does something and attacks an enemy for example. then you teleport again into another hut and stay there. seems totally valid to reveal both huts, why not? I mean if a hero moved into a hut the traditional way the princess is also revealed instantly, and he can decide to move out again in the same turn. he does not have to finish his turn in the hut. So the same applies for teleporting IMO
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Othman
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Loig wrote:
why? I disagree.


In your scenario, Hadrathus has performed two separate instances of teleportation. Consider it differently:

Key
ninja= Hadrathus
sauron= Hut
= Casts Teleport
= Stopping/Arriving at a destination

Hadrathus wants to teleport to a hut 2 spaces away, from a position adjacent to another hut. He would pass through two huts. This would cost him 1 gem to cast teleport, then 1 gem for each space thus a total of 3 gems.

ninja - sauron - sauron

In your scenario:

Hadrathus wants to teleport to a hut 2 spaces away, but also wants to visit the hunt he is adjacent to. He would have to spend 1 gem to teleport, 1 gem to enter the hut's space and his first destination, perform actions, spend another 1 gem to initiate a second teleport and then spend a final 1 gem to reach his destination at the far hut. A total of 4 gems.

ninja - sauron - sauron

Your scenario is possible, but is not the same.
4 
 Thumb up
0.10
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loig Roumois
Switzerland
Baden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you made a math error
He spends one gem per space he teleports to, not one to activate the spell and then another one to move. Teleport is a classic gem-burner in the sense that you have a pay-as-you-move function. you can stop and restart anytime you want just as other players do with the move action with the very important difference that teleport has no max amount of gems, so he never "tires", like the move action does. well technically he tires when out of gems of course... so your example would be like this (strictly following the rules of course):



Circinae wrote:

Key
ninja= Hadrathus
sauron= Hut
= Casts Teleport
= Stopping/Arriving at a destination

Hadrathus wants to teleport to a hut 2 spaces away, from a position adjacent to another hut. He would pass through two huts. This would cost him 1 gem for each space thus a total of 2 gems.

if he then decides he actually wants to teleport one more space - ding, that's one more gem. no matter if he acted in between or not
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Loig wrote:
I think you made a math error
He spends one gem per space he teleports to, not one to activate the spell and then another one to move.


Yes, he does. Pallantides (one of the playtesters) clarified this for us. One gem to activate the spell (the value in the upper/left of the card), then an additional one gem per space he wants to move.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank BLACKFIRE
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Circinae wrote:

In your scenario, Hadrathus has performed two separate instances of teleportation. Consider it differently:

Key
ninja= Hadrathus
sauron= Hut
= Casts Teleport
= Stopping/Arriving at a destination

Hadrathus wants to teleport to a hut 2 spaces away, from a position adjacent to another hut. He would pass through two huts. This would cost him 1 gem to cast teleport, then 1 gem for each space thus a total of 3 gems.

ninja - sauron - sauron

In your scenario:

Hadrathus wants to teleport to a hut 2 spaces away, but also wants to visit the hunt he is adjacent to. He would have to spend 1 gem to teleport, 1 gem to enter the hut's space and his first destination, perform actions, spend another 1 gem to initiate a second teleport and then spend a final 1 gem to reach his destination at the far hut. A total of 4 gems.

ninja - sauron - sauron

Your scenario is possible, but is not the same.


TXH Philip, your example is fine.cool
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.