Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Emergence: A Game of Teamwork and Deception» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do you have to take your action? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason McReynolds
msg tools
Avatar
I realize that the rules say that if you hack/spy/terminate you can pay one knowledge token to take a tile action, but do you have to take an action? For example, say I try to hack someone and our augmentations match, so I can't hack them now. Can I just move and do nothing, or do I have to pay a knowledge token and do a tile action?

Also, say I choose to collect a data cube and on my turn (let's say I'm A.I.), the cube I was going to take is now the last cube and I don't want to take it (since the humans would win), can I just move to an empty tile and do nothing?

Thanks!
3 
 Thumb up
31.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Sheng
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Jason!

Nope you don't ever have to take your action. You can most definitely move and do nothing! I hope that helps!

Also here is a video if you havent seen it!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UT2LLROYZOU&feature=youtu.be
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason McReynolds
msg tools
Avatar
Thanks for the clarification!

I played with some friends during lunch at work yesterday and they want to play again! I'm having a lot of fun with this game so far.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klaus Brune
United States
Torrance
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sprifir wrote:
Hey Jason!

Nope you don't ever have to take your action. You can most definitely move and do nothing! I hope that helps!

Also here is a video if you havent seen it!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UT2LLROYZOU&feature=youtu.be


This question just came up for us this weekend (before I had a chance to read this thread, of course).

It's good to have a clarification. But one thing remains unclear... if one chooses simply NOT to do the action, what happens to the knowledge tokens? Are they committed and spent regardless of whether or not you do the action, or can you basically change your mind about that termination action and get your three knowledge tokens back?

I have mixed feelings about what the answer might be. Sure, regardless, a botched terminate still means you wasted a turn doing nothing. But would it enhance the game to make the risk more severe? If you're out to terminate someone, you risk wasting not only your turn, but 3 knowledge as well? I guess the question is, does that enhance the agony of the decision making, or make terminate so sever that people very rarely use it? Just thinking out loud.

Similarly, what we ended up playing is that if you commit to activate, you HAVE to do so. So, when a player wanted to block a suspected human from getting to a grey tile, but most definitely did NOT want to activate it, he eneded up choosing a BOOST action to get there.

Which leads to another issue... if one chooses to BOOST, are they COMMITTED to moving two spaces if it is possible to do so? Can one boost by moving to an adjacent space and then back to the space of origin?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.