$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Mechs vs. Minions» Forums » Rules

Subject: Towing question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tobias Wilker
Germany
Lemgo
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
When i want to tow lets say the bomb for example and I have the Speed command with level 2, how many spaces can I tow the bomb?
We played it, so that We can tow the bomb 1-3 spaces. Was that correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
YggrdasilEx wrote:
When i want to tow lets say the bomb for example and I have the Speed command with level 2, how many spaces can I tow the bomb?
We played it, so that We can tow the bomb 1-3 spaces. Was that correct?

As I understand it, the towing cost must be paid for each space of movement.

So I think you could perform any of the following actions:
• Move forward 4 spaces, the bomb stays where it was.
• Move forward 2 spaces, towing the bomb twice for the remaining spaces.
• Move forward 1 space, towing the bomb 1 space, then move forward an additional 2 spaces without the bomb.

I certainly might be wrong, but that's how the rules read to me. We have been told (in the rules for Mission 1) you must spend all your movement and move on without your towed bomb/mech if necessary when you are moving an odd number of spaces, which would contradict the way you were playing it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hans Moleman
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
I was saying boo-urns
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
It's essentially a 2 for 1 exchange.

You can also think about it as movement points combined with the towed unit
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Cantrell
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
YggrdasilEx wrote:
When i want to tow lets say the bomb for example and I have the Speed command with level 2, how many spaces can I tow the bomb?
We played it, so that We can tow the bomb 1-3 spaces. Was that correct?


No, towing moves the bomb (or mech) one space for every two points of movement. Since level 2 speed provides 2-4 movement, you can choose '4' and tow two spaces.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Riot Kades wrote:
Since level 2 speed provides 2-4 movement...


Doesn't it force 4 movement?

Edit: It turns out the image I was using to get the text of the card was not the final one, so there is an option here after all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Maxcy
United States
Lexington
Nebraska
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
Riot Kades wrote:
Since level 2 speed provides 2-4 movement...


Doesn't it force 4 movement?


On Speed I believe it's the operator's choice giving you a bit more control.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
arcnarenth wrote:
Clipper wrote:
Riot Kades wrote:
Since level 2 speed provides 2-4 movement...


Doesn't it force 4 movement?


On Speed I believe it's the operator's choice giving you a bit more control.


The card, according to the manual, looks like this:



So there is no choice. Level 2 Speed is 4 spaces only.

Unless the card in the box is different to the picture in the manual of the card...

Edit: And the card is different after all. It seems like there were some changes between the pictures in the manual and the final cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rodney "Watch It Played" Smith
Canada
Montague
Prince Edward Island
flag msg tools
Join us to learn and watch games played at youtube.com/watchitplayed
mbmbmbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
arcnarenth wrote:
Clipper wrote:
Riot Kades wrote:
Since level 2 speed provides 2-4 movement...


Doesn't it force 4 movement?


On Speed I believe it's the operator's choice giving you a bit more control.


The card, according to the manual, looks like this:



So there is no choice. Level 2 Speed is 4 spaces only.

Unless the card in the box is different to the picture in the manual of the card...


Looks like a wrong image of that card slipped into the rule book. It's actually written in ranges on the actual card, giving the player a choice.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, well that explains it...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Xavier Nostradunwhich
United States
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Pelvidar wrote:
Looks like a wrong image of that card slipped into the rule book. It's actually written in ranges on the actual card, giving the player a choice.

Mr. Smith, you are a credit to our hobby.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.