$15.00
$30.00
$20.00
$5.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
16 Posts

SeaFall» Forums » Rules

Subject: Another question on the Port rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ken Shows
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
The structure text says the Port will remove damage cards for any ship that "ends its sail action" in the same region as the Port. Our group interpreted that to mean that if a ship STARTS its turn on the home province, and a port is built during the turn, that ship could not remove its damage cards unless it also took a sail action to go out to the shallows and back. Seems a bit unthematic, but may be important for game balancing reasons. How have others interpreted this technicality?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Kaemmer
United States
Iowa City
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That's the way I understood it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
j n
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
We played it as only triggering at the end of the sail action (the ship doesn't actually have to move).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jean-Philippe Thériault
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
lactamaeon wrote:
We played it as only triggering at the end of the sail action (the ship doesn't actually have to move).


This. The Sail action is a player action, not a ship action. If a ship is in a Port space at the end of a Sail action, even if the ship hasn't moved, then it gets to repair.

To be fair, this is equivalent to moving out and back in on the same Sail action, except if your speed dropped to 1.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil
United States
Morton Grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
XDarkAngelX wrote:
lactamaeon wrote:
We played it as only triggering at the end of the sail action (the ship doesn't actually have to move).


This. The Sail action is a player action, not a ship action. If a ship is in a Port space at the end of a Sail action, even if the ship hasn't moved, then it gets to repair.

To be fair, this is equivalent to moving out and back in on the same Sail action, except if your speed dropped to 1.


This, but the key thing to remember is that one has to actually take the Sail action as one of their 2 actions, even if the ship doesn't move (or moves 0 spaces).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clinton Rice
United States
Chino
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
Of course it would be just as easy to forego sail and claim build and repair as your two actions, and achieve the same result. The only reason to do the 0-move sail action is if you want to move your other ship.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
KoalaXav wrote:
Of course it would be just as easy to forego sail and claim build and repair as your two actions, and achieve the same result. The only reason to do the 0-move sail action is if you want to move your other ship.


No, the primary reason to do the 0-move Sail action with the Port is because you want to hire a guild other than Builders. So you can Sail/Sell or Sail/Research or Sail/Tax, for example.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The port also allows you to repair (with a sail action) and upgrade in the same turn -- normally you can only repair OR upgrade, since they are two options under the same action (which you can't take twice). With the right appellation an the Port, you can pay 2 gold to sail, repair, upgrade, AND build!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
TJ
United States
Burbank
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There are situations later in the campaign that if your ship automatically removed damage for being in the same space of a Port w/o needing to take any sort of action, the Port would be incredibly over-powered.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clinton Rice
United States
Chino
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
DaviddesJ wrote:
KoalaXav wrote:
Of course it would be just as easy to forego sail and claim build and repair as your two actions, and achieve the same result. The only reason to do the 0-move sail action is if you want to move your other ship.


No, the primary reason to do the 0-move Sail action with the Port is because you want to hire a guild other than Builders. So you can Sail/Sell or Sail/Research or Sail/Tax, for example.


Sorry but this time you are completely wrong. The question was about getting the benefit of the port on the turn you build it. You cannot build the port if you take a guild other than builders. And if you already have a port from a previous turn, you dont need to take a 0-move, because the port would have triggered when you sailed to port.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
KoalaXav wrote:
Sorry but this time you are completely wrong. The question was about getting the benefit of the port on the turn you build it. You cannot build the port if you take a guild other than builders. And if you already have a port from a previous turn, you dont need to take a 0-move, because the port would have triggered when you sailed to port.


"Completely wrong"? Wow, this is getting heated over nothing. Several times in our games someone has built a Port when their damaged ships were already in the region (typically because they used the ships to deliver the goods to get the discount on the Port) and then subsequently took a Sail action without moving in order to get the benefit of the Port. They could Repair/Build, but they wanted their other action to be something other than Build.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clinton Rice
United States
Chino
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
DaviddesJ wrote:
KoalaXav wrote:
Sorry but this time you are completely wrong. The question was about getting the benefit of the port on the turn you build it. You cannot build the port if you take a guild other than builders. And if you already have a port from a previous turn, you dont need to take a 0-move, because the port would have triggered when you sailed to port.


"Completely wrong"? Wow, this is getting heated over nothing. Several times in our games someone has built a Port when their damaged ships were already in the region (typically because they used the ships to deliver the goods to get the discount on the Port) and then subsequently took a Sail action without moving in order to get the benefit of the Port. They could Repair/Build, but they wanted their other action to be something other than Build.


You need the build action to build the port. It's not optional. So if you just built the port, and your ship is in port, taking the repair action works just as well as a zero move sail action. Unless you need to move your other ship. Think about it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
KoalaXav wrote:
You need the build action to build the port. It's not optional. So if you just built the port, and your ship is in port, taking the repair action works just as well as a zero move sail action. Unless you need to move your other ship. Think about it.


I'm doing neither. Typically I'd do Sail/Build to reach the region and build the Port. Then, on the next turn, I could do Sail/Tax or Sail/Upgrade or Sail/Research or Sail/Sell, to repair the ship(s) without moving and take another action of my choice.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clinton Rice
United States
Chino
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
Sorry. In that case, you are right.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
KoalaXav wrote:
You need the build action to build the port. It's not optional. So if you just built the port, and your ship is in port, taking the repair action works just as well as a zero move sail action. Unless you need to move your other ship. Think about it.

This is a minor quibble, but I've seen at least one exception to this "universal" rule.
Spoiler (click to reveal)
There are exploration results that let you build structures. So far, this seems to be a fairly rare result, but it *can* allow you to build a structure without using the Builder's Guild.
Of course, you can't plan on that happening...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clinton Rice
United States
Chino
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
Becq wrote:
KoalaXav wrote:
You need the build action to build the port. It's not optional. So if you just built the port, and your ship is in port, taking the repair action works just as well as a zero move sail action. Unless you need to move your other ship. Think about it.

This is a minor quibble, but I've seen at least one exception to this "universal" rule.
Spoiler (click to reveal)
There are exploration results that let you build structures. So far, this seems to be a fairly rare result, but it *can* allow you to build a structure without using the Builder's Guild.
Of course, you can't plan on that happening...


And if you just finished an exploration, the odds that your other ship is sitting in port damaged is pretty low.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.