GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

7,805 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
22 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Hannibal: Rome vs. Carthage» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attrition Table rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Renato Corrêa
Brazil
Florianopolis
Santa Catarina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, how can I roll a 7 on the Attrition Table if there is no +1 modifier (only -2)?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Einmal ist keinmal
United States
Andover
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Non fui, fui, non sum, non curo
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Renato99 wrote:
Hi, how can I roll a 7 on the Attrition Table if there is no +1 modifier (only -2)?

Thanks

Look at the Battle Card "Double Envelopment". If you win a battle with that card, the loser suffers a +2 drm on the retreat roll. That's how.

Edit: Sorry, wrong table. In fact, there is a Strategy card (Tribal Resistance? Pestilence?) that gives an attrition roll with a positive modifier.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Renato Corrêa
Brazil
Florianopolis
Santa Catarina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Desiderata wrote:
Renato99 wrote:
Hi, how can I roll a 7 on the Attrition Table if there is no +1 modifier (only -2)?

Thanks

Look at the Battle Card "Double Envelopment". If you win a battle with that card, the loser suffers a +2 drm on the retreat roll. That's how.


Thanks a lot, sir, but the retreat roll is another table (the one that goes up to 8), isn'it? I am still learning the rules and from what I was able to understand the retreat roll is after the Attrition roll, right?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tom tom
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think Renato is right:
The retreat roll is the one affected by some battle cards.
And I can't think of a game effect implying a +1 roll on the attrition table :/
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Latto
United States
Foxboro
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The card "Storms at Sea" has a roll at +2 on the attrition table.
The card "Pestilence" has a roll at +1 on the attrition table.

I think these cards are the only way you will use the 7+ row of the attrition table.
12 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Einmal ist keinmal
United States
Andover
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Non fui, fui, non sum, non curo
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry, I edited to add to my previous post. I was thinking of the wrong table.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tom tom
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And Andy nails it. Well done.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Renato Corrêa
Brazil
Florianopolis
Santa Catarina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Andy, Tom, Humulus, thanks a lot!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johannes S
Germany
Ansbach
Bayern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
And if you cross the Alpes, you have to roll on the table with +1
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Einmal ist keinmal
United States
Andover
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Non fui, fui, non sum, non curo
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TTallas wrote:
And if you cross the Alpes, you have to roll on the table with +1

Good point. But, it's incorrectly printed on the board. Should be a +2 modifier.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Latto
United States
Foxboro
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Desiderata wrote:
TTallas wrote:
And if you cross the Alpes, you have to roll on the table with +1

Good point. But, it's incorrectly printed on the board. Should be a +2 modifier.

Nope. 0 modifier for alps, -2 modifier for non-alps mountains.

Valley Games rulebook, section 10.6 wrote:

MOUNTAIN PASS ATTRITION: Each time an Army
crosses a mountain pass, it must roll for attrition (21.1) immediately
after crossing the pass. If the mountain pass was a
Non-Alps Pass, modify your die roll by -2. There is no modifier
for crossing an Alps Pass.

The rulebook is right here on this website, at a link on the page https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/38795/hannibal-rules-vall...
I recommend answering rules questions by quoting the relevant rulebook page, so as to avoid spreading misinformation.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.