$15.00
$30.00
$5.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Monster Movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chad Phares
msg tools
mbmbmb
Situation:
The app says the monster moves 2 spaces towards the closest investigator then attacks.
There is not an investigator in that monster's space.
You choose that option and the app says that they monster moves two spaces towards the closest investigator.

Do you move the monster once or move it again "instead" of the attack action it would take if it were near an investigator?
As in do cultists move 2 or 4 spaces during the mythos phase?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Mckay
United Kingdom
Westerham
Kent
flag msg tools
Good, bad... I'm the guy with the gun.
mbmb
I have assumed that the second rule overrides the first; the difficulties are far great otherwise
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mortego
United States
New Kensington
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
4 spaces altogether, yes.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chick Lewis
United States
Claremont
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just do as the App says, follow the directions exactly. It tells you to move 2 spaces and attack. If attack is impossible, move two more spaces. Id does not tell you do do anything after the 2nd move instruction.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
BurtHoovis wrote:
Situation:
The app says the monster moves 2 spaces towards the closest investigator then attacks.
There is not an investigator in that monster's space.
You choose that option and the app says that they monster moves two spaces towards the closest investigator.


This particular example definitely moves the monster 4 spaces.

However, be very careful as that type of movement is quite rare.

If the first instruction were:

The monster moves 2 spaces to be within range of as many investigator as possible, then attacks all investigators within range.

or

The monster moves 2 spaces to be adjacent to as many investigators as possible, then attacks the adjacent investigator with the most Damage.

then the button would be 'the monster cannot move to be within range/adjacent' and it would not move at all via this first instruction.

So read the instruction very carefully. Most (but not all) examples where the monster definitely moves via the first instruction will not have a second prompt to move again.
6 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kelvin Green
United Kingdom
Brighton
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I played a game of this yesterday in which a Deep One spent most of the game trapped in a room because it kept trying to move towards the nearest investigator, but the shortest route was barricaded and it couldn't break through. If it had gone the longer way around it would have bumped into a different investigator.

So here are some questions about movement, based on that.

Should the Deep One have been trapped, or could it have gone the long way around to avoid the barricade? In other words, does a monster have to try to take the shortest route towards its target if that route is blocked or dangerous?

Is it possible for the nearest target to change based on the monster's movement? For example, a monster moves towards Rita but in doing so it "sees" Minh Thi is closer, so does it switch targets?

If two targets are equally as distant and there are no other instructions -- for example, "the investigator with the most Will" -- which target does the monster choose?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kelvingreen wrote:
Should the Deep One have been trapped, or could it have gone the long way around to avoid the barricade? In other words, does a monster have to try to take the shortest route towards its target if that route is blocked or dangerous?

Yes, it must take the shortest route even if barricaded. Taking a different route would not be moving towards its destination, according to the definition of 'Toward' in the RRG.

Quote:
Is it possible for the nearest target to change based on the monster's movement? For example, a monster moves towards Rita but in doing so it "sees" Minh Thi is closer, so does it switch targets?

I don't think there's any instruction that would work that way. You evaluate the target position it will want to go to before moving it and I can't think of any instruction where that would change en-route.

Quote:
If two targets are equally as distant and there are no other instructions -- for example, "the investigator with the most Will" -- which target does the monster choose?

The rules say the Investigators decide all ties. This is just another example of a tie. If the instruction were for a monster to head towards the investigator with the highest Will, then it wouldn't even look at distance. The investigators could choose the investigator that is further away. Most instructions will include a 'closest' in them anyway, so this situation would be rare.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kelvin Green
United Kingdom
Brighton
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
kelvingreen wrote:
If two targets are equally as distant and there are no other instructions -- for example, "the investigator with the most Will" -- which target does the monster choose?

The rules say the Investigators decide all ties. This is just another example of a tie. If the instruction were for a monster to head towards the investigator with the highest Will, then it wouldn't even look at distance. The investigators could choose the investigator that is further away. Most instructions will include a 'closest' in them anyway, so this situation would be rare.


It came up three or four times in last night's game; perhaps it's more common if you're playing with two.

We did decide each time, but it felt a bit as if we were gaming the system -- all the monsters went after the investigator with the most health! -- so I wanted to see if there was some sort of procedure in place.

Thanks for the answers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As long as you are following the instruction, you're fine. Note that sometimes, the direction of movement might use a different instruction to the attack. For example, "Move up to 2 spaces towards the nearest investigator, then attack the investigator in the monster's space with the highest Will." In that case, the attack instruction will not affect the direction of movement you must take.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kelvin Green
United Kingdom
Brighton
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
As long as you are following the instruction, you're fine.


Well yes, but if it's "move towards the nearest investigator" and both investigators are three spaces away, that's where we thought we were perhaps cheating a little bit by always sending the monsters after the strongest investigator. Still, if that's the rule, I won't complain!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.