Popular Tags: [View All]
Carl Schnurr
United States
Oak Park
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello, I'm new to the series and am just starting my first play of DDAP. Note that I'd prefer to start with Omaha, but DDAP is the only title readily available. My thinking was...I can learn the system with DDAP, then be ready for Omaha and Tarawa reprints when they come out in 2017 (fingers crossed).

But...I'm reading LOTS of posts about how impossible this game is and I have a few questions/statements I'd like to put out there to hopefully influence the reprints.

1) Varying degrees of difficulty. Why aren't there varying degrees of difficulty? Many solo games come with a base difficulty plus sanctioned rules for ramping up or down the difficulty so that players can find their sweet spot. From the forums it seems that the only difficulty for DDAP is Nightmare mode, which may keep players from making the jump to buy the game. It'd be great to have a toolset for difficulty adjustments, especially for new players.

2) Degrees of success. Why aren't there varying degrees of success? Again, many solo games I've played have a sliding scale of success/failure. This allows you to easily measure one game against another, and would allow for you to have various benchmarks to push for. You did as good as/better than the historical outcome! You achieved the (nigh impossible) plan! And so on. Varying degrees of success would be a great way to allow for partial successes and failures, and allow each player to set their own threshold for success.

This is a simple plea to think about inclusion of these changes either in errata or in the new editions. I think it would broaden the appeal and get even more people playing!

Looking forward to your comments,
-Carl

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
"Arrange whatever pieces come your way." Virginia Woolf
mbmbmbmbmb
Slimjack wrote: