Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Mechs vs. Minions» Forums » Rules

Subject: do mechs block LoS? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Fruit Eating Bear
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm surprised no one's asked this, so I'm assuming it's there somewhere and I've missed it. If you have a mech in front of you and a minion one further ahead, and your weapon deals damage to the two spaces ahead of you, does the mech in front of you block the damage from going through?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Palmer
Canada
Ayr
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fruit Eating Bear wrote:
I'm surprised no one's asked this, so I'm assuming it's there somewhere and I've missed it. If you have a mech in front of you and a minion one further ahead, and your weapon deals damage to the two spaces ahead of you, does the mech in front of you block the damage from going through?


It depends on the weapon, and should be clear between the cards, and the quick reference sheet.

I believe the Ripsaw gets blocked by Mechs, but other weapons (like the flamespitter) wouldn't.

That said, there are a few schematics cards that I think might be harder to interpret...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Cantrell
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Felkor wrote:
[q="Fruit Eating Bear"]
It depends on the weapon, and should be clear between the cards, and the quick reference sheet.

I believe the Ripsaw gets blocked by Mechs, but other weapons (like the flamespitter) wouldn't.


This is correct.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daen Dubrulle
Belgium
Limburg
flag msg tools
Riot Kades wrote:

This is correct.



Sooooo, what's the next game you are working on? laugh

Make a hidden movement game where the person with the hidden movement is Teemo ^^
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Zarzycki
Poland
Poznan
Wielkopolskie
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Riot Kades wrote:
Felkor wrote:
[q="Fruit Eating Bear"]
It depends on the weapon, and should be clear between the cards, and the quick reference sheet.

I believe the Ripsaw gets blocked by Mechs, but other weapons (like the flamespitter) wouldn't.


This is correct.


What about the weapon doing the diagonal damage in range 3 on full stack (forgot the name) - if another mech stands on the diagonal, but there are other minions "behind him", looking diagonally? Would that mech stop the damage?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron S
United States
Ventura
California
flag msg tools
I don't remember what I ate last night
badge
but I can spout off obscure rules to all sorts of game like nobody's business!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rattkin wrote:
What about the weapon doing the diagonal damage in range 3 on full stack (forgot the name) - if another mech stands on the diagonal, but there are other minions "behind him", looking diagonally? Would that mech stop the damage?

Cyclotron hits all spaces in range, regardless of 'blocking'.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, pretty much only Ripsaw gets blocked by default. Any of the Schematics that are blocked will be made clear via their text.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Zarzycki
Poland
Poznan
Wielkopolskie
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And the "empty space" between tiles also don't block LoS? So that, if mech is positioned on the edge of one tile, a stack 2-3 Cyclotron (that's the one, thanks), could potentially hit minions on the other tile, with tiles arranged diagonally?

(o is empty space, M is mech, m is minion)

ooooooo
oooooMo
ooooooo
omooooo

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron S
United States
Ventura
California
flag msg tools
I don't remember what I ate last night
badge
but I can spout off obscure rules to all sorts of game like nobody's business!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rattkin wrote:
And the "empty space" between tiles also don't block LoS? So that, if mech is positioned on the edge of one tile, a stack 2-3 Cyclotron (that's the one, thanks), could potentially hit minions on the other tile, with tiles arranged diagonally?

(o is empty space, M is mech, m is minion)

ooooooo
oooooMo
ooooooo
omooooo


Yes, it can hit across empty space. The designers have answered this somewhere around here. See below.

edit for clarity
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I thought the ruling was to treat missing tiles as Massive Boulders, which means you can shoot across it with most things except Ripsaw... I think I'll go find that ruling again!

Edit: Found the ruling. Also, I note that I misread your response. I thought you were saying the edge can block things when you were actually answering the second question of whether Cyclotron got through.

Here is the ruling, BTW.

Long story short: Treat missing tiles as Massive Boulders, thus they do not block most attacks except Ripsaw.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.