Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Legendary: A Marvel Deck Building Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: S.H.I.E.L.D. Clearance headache rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Mills
United Kingdom
Forest Row
East Sussex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So to fight Shield clearance I first need to discard a shield hero

My question is: does the hero need to be in my hand, or can it have been played already? I.e. One of three troopers used to get the 3/// To hit the henchmen Cape Killers?

I have been playing it that the card discarded must be in my hand (unplayed) as I cannot discard a card I have already played
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Shaunessy

California
msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmb
To discard a card it must come from the hand. Cards already played can be KO'd, but not discarded.
16 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Mills
United Kingdom
Forest Row
East Sussex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Mark that is what I thought, only I had to ask as this scheme is killing me
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Strategy tip: It's usually best to discard/KO a S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent to a Cape Killer and in general in the case of S.H.I.E.L.D. Clearance, especially if it's the scheme I think it is.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris F
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
I'm curious how Shield clearance works with Dodge. I will assume that they are separate mechanics and when you Dodge (discard a say Madame Hydra) to then draw a card, you don't also trigger the shield clearance. So you would have to discard an additional Hydra hero?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jem
France
flag msg tools
PigPatYo wrote:
I'm curious how Shield clearance works with Dodge. I will assume that they are separate mechanics and when you Dodge (discard a say Madame Hydra) to then draw a card, you don't also trigger the shield clearance. So you would have to discard an additional Hydra hero?

I'd assume that if you're discarding a card, whatever the reason, it triggers discard-based effects as normal. If you've got a particularly effective synergy there, well good for you frankly.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Theorel Masheriel
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
mb
Jemjar wrote:
PigPatYo wrote:
I'm curious how Shield clearance works with Dodge. I will assume that they are separate mechanics and when you Dodge (discard a say Madame Hydra) to then draw a card, you don't also trigger the shield clearance. So you would have to discard an additional Hydra hero?

I'd assume that if you're discarding a card, whatever the reason, it triggers discard-based effects as normal. If you've got a particularly effective synergy there, well good for you frankly.


If Dodge said "Whenever you discard..." then it would work, but that's not how dodge works.
Quote:
“Dodge” means “During your turn, you may
discard this card from your hand to draw another
card.”

Quote:
If a Villain says “S.H.I.E.L.D. Clearance,”
then you must discard a <SHIELD> Hero as an
additional cost to fight that Villain

If you are discarding a card to draw a card, you are not discarding it as the cost to fight the Villain. Just like you cannot count dodge to play a common Cyclops card, or discard a single card and have it count for all Cyclops' common cards.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Mills
United Kingdom
Forest Row
East Sussex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
TheUbiquitous wrote:
Strategy tip: It's usually best to discard/KO a S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent to a Cape Killer and in general in the case of S.H.I.E.L.D. Clearance, especially if it's the scheme I think it is.


Yes it's the combination with Ragnorok, if the third and forth twist comes too close together there is no hope. Even with a Master Strike in between then both player's hands are compromised. Added to this getting bystanders for Savior has been a struggle. .. hardest challenge so far. I'm still keen to try and beat it. Maybe every player level needs one extra villain set.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.