$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Shadow Soul and Blasting Rune rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
KJ Reisdahl
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Hi everyone,

today the question came up whether the secondary effect of Blasting Rune ("When a monster is defeated during an attack with this weapon, each figure adjacent to the defeated monster suffers 2 Heart.") benefits from Shadow Soul ability ("Each time a monster in a space adjacent or containing a Shadow Soul suffers Heart from an attack, it suffers 1 additional Heart.").

Basically it comes down to the question, if the secondary damage from blasting rune counts as damage from an attack. Does "damage from an attack" refer to the whole damage dealt during an attack or does it only mean the damage dealt by attack dice?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason
Canada
Campbell River
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not an official ruling, but I would interpret the collateral damage as being from an attack, and so apply the Shadow Soul modifier to all those in the domain of influence of the shadow soul. That is, the damage is not due to a fatigue penalty where max fatigue has already been accrued, or something like that. The damage arose due to an attack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is not attack damage. The monsters adjacent to the defeated monster are neither targeted nor affected by the attack (that is, they are not attacked.) I think this question has been answered with regard to incendiary arrows (also not an attack).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.