$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Dungeon Command: Blood of Gruumsh» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hurl Rock card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Leandroi Quirina
msg tools
Does the hurl rock card allows the player to cover?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raistlin
Italy
Torino
Torino
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Heh, I searched the forum for the same question, arisen during a play session some days ago... and I found your post. Me too I'd like to know the answer to this.

However, technically, Hurl Rock is the effect of a card, not a ranged attack; the rules refers only to ranged attacks for cover. So I'd say that the target cannot cover. But it's only my interpretation.

I think we'll never know the truth, because the game is dead...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aran Mafre
msg tools
The game might be "dead" according to the developers but it is sure
as hell not dead in my (and my friends') book. In fact we are working on a homebrew non-official expansion
of 150 new creatures and 20 new Order cards. So the game is alive and well whistle.

As for the question: the original intent of the card design was to allow the simpleton brute orc creatures to have a
surprise ranged attack. Of course, an Ogre pulling it off would be even better.

Because it is not a ranged attack (it deals base melee damage but intentionally does not specify to "make a
ranged attack that deals melee damage") there is no COVER against it. However, the usual line of sight
requirements apply. Standing behind a wall, behind another creature etc. does not allow targeting. This card is
not like DIMENSION DOOR! You cannot shoot through walls .


In effect it is a ranged attack that ignores COVER and as far as its
use goes you can have similar effect with the CHARGE Order Card (move
that same distance that you would cover with HURL ROCK's 5 squares and
simply make the melee attack against an adjacent creature).

It's something like your creature would have REACH 5 to make the melee attack.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aran Mafre
msg tools
In comparison, IF you would - say - make a card
like this , you could make a ranged attack but
if you specify that there is no COVER option...
Well, then there is no COVER option.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.