Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Vegas Showdown» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do you need to have prerequisites on the board? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marc Kob
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
I know I should be able to figure this out, but having just read the rules and never played this yet I need some clarification.

The rules for placing a tile indicate that you need to have the prerequisites for a tile on your mat, but then in the photo in which they are explaining renovation they show a buffet with no restaurant present on the mat. Did the player have one and exchange it? So it's now just sitting off board?

I'm not clear if you buy premeir tiles to replace the basic ones, or if you buy them in addition to standard tiles. In other words do you turn your restaurants into buffets? (taking the restaurant off the board and leaving it off) Or do you build a restaurant with a buffet adjacent to it?

Thanks for any help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Todd
United Kingdom
Manchester
England
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You have to have the prerequisite on your board to place the new tile on there. It's placed in addition, not as a replacement.

You are right about the photo in the rules contrdicting this, but I think the written rules are correct and the photo is wrong.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fraser
Australia
Melbourne
flag msg tools
admin
designer
Back in the days when there were less maps we played every map back to back
badge
Ooh a little higher, now a bit to the left, a little more, a little more, just a bit more. Oooh yes, that's the spot!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Short answer: No

Slightly longer answer:
Premier tiles are in addition to the basic tiles. You do not need the prerequisite tile(s) to buy a premier tile, but you do need the prerequisite tile(s) to be able to build them.

As per the example on P7, you need to have built Slots before you can build Fancy Slots and you need to have built Slots and Fancy Slots before you can build the Dragon Room. You can buy Fancy Slots and Dragon Room at any time, just you will need to hold them off the board until the appropriate prerequisites have been built.


Under Purchase & Placement of Tiles (my emphasis)
If you purchase a tile but don't place it (because you choose not to
or you don't meet the prerequisites for it), you may instead
place a tile onto your sheet that you had earlier put off to the side.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Sauberer
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The prerequisites have to be on the board when you place a tile that requires them.

However, I do not believe that they have to stay there. IOW, your idea about the prerequisite tile being moved off board during a renovation is a likely explanation for the picture.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Pressler
United States
West Lafayette
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
OMG! Overtext! How long have I been sleeping?! OVERTEXT! Also, I'm a DESIGNER now?! Sweet! OVERTEXXXXXXT!
badge
HO HO HO! Give me some money!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And getting to your second question, the premier tile does not replace the prerequisite. As mentioned, the prerequisite needs to be part of your casino hotel before you build the premier tile, but the prerequisite stays where it is when you do.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.