10 Posts

Dead of Winter: The Long Night» Forums » General

Subject: Any reason to get base game? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tan Song
msg tools
Hi all,

I'm planning to jump into the Dow series. Thinking whether to get the long night or the base game (I may get the other one at some point in time, if I like it)

Was hoping to get some advice on which is better to get for starters? My thinking right now is that long night would be better, because of the additional modules (extra value) and better components overall.

From what I've read peoples'gripes with the expansion lie mostly in the variant, which is a risk I'm willing to take since if I can just don't use them if I don't like them. Whereas if I go for the base game I would not even have the option of trying the variants out.

What do you guys think?

PS. As an interesting aside, i was actually debating between betrayal at house on the hill and Dow, but eventually decided to get both. I'm new to the hobby and an currently going through the phase of "buy everything that looks interesting "- hopefully this won't be a cause for regret haha
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrea R
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmb
The game is good and it deserves a play.
The long night has the extra modules that's true but it has a bit less of everything else: less crossroads, less characters, less scenarios, etc.
No changes where the number has to be precise (I.e. Location cards)

I think your reasoning is correct. With the long night you can always exclude the 2 modules but not the other way around.

I would suggest the base game only if you already know the modules would't appeal you as you get more for the base game.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donny Behne
United States
Fate
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
lowplayercount.com
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
More, different characters, different scenarios, different secret objectives, different crossroads cards.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls