Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

World in Flames» Forums » Rules

Subject: Row 8 Naval movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniele Micozzi
Italy
flag msg tools
I'm readind the Row 8.1, can a fleet start the naval movement step in a sea area, move in a port and then in another sea area and ends the move there?

Thank you!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
Si non potes reperire Berolini in tabula, ludens essetis non WIF.
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ducadan81 wrote:
I'm readind the Row 8.1, can a fleet start the naval movement step in a sea area, move in a port and then in another sea area and ends the move there?

Thank you!


Nope. If a naval unit starts its move at SEA, it can only end either in a lower sea box in the same area, or in port. See 11.4.1.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniele Micozzi
Italy
flag msg tools
I always used this rule in the right way but today I'have been a little bit confused reading this part of 11.4.2

"Similarly, a naval unit can only move into a port via the surrounding sea area. It could continue moving but, if it ends the naval move in port, turn it face-down (for convoy points, use a “CP used” marker instead)"

Does "if it ends the naval moving in port" mean that the unit can even end the move in a sea area after passing into a port?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
Si non potes reperire Berolini in tabula, ludens essetis non WIF.
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ducadan81 wrote:
I always used this rule in the right way but today I'have been a little bit confused reading this part of 11.4.2

"Similarly, a naval unit can only move into a port via the surrounding sea area. It could continue moving but, if it ends the naval move in port, turn it face-down (for convoy points, use a “CP used” marker instead)"

Does "if it ends the naval moving in port" mean that the unit can even end the move in a sea area after passing into a port?


Yes. But only for a naval unit that began its move in a PORT, because that section does NOT negate the restriction in 11.4.1 that says a naval unit that starts in a sea area cannot end its move in another sea area.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniele Micozzi
Italy
flag msg tools
Thank you, much more clear now!
Just one more question:
If a naval unit end its move in a port is turned face down but if it continues in another sea area it stays face up.
What do you think it represents?
Why is the unit that continues not penalized like the one that stops the move earlier?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
Si non potes reperire Berolini in tabula, ludens essetis non WIF.
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ducadan81 wrote:
Thank you, much more clear now!
Just one more question:
If a naval unit end its move in a port is turned face down but if it continues in another sea area it stays face up.
What do you think it represents?
Why is the unit that continues not penalized like the one that stops the move earlier?


The big difference is when you start your move in a port, you have fewer restrictions on moving. If the naval units ending in a port weren't turned face down, they could then move on the next impulse, and presumably the designer thought that was too great a level of flexibility.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniele Micozzi
Italy
flag msg tools
Thanks Wendell!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matteo
Italy
Rome
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Option 16: dynamic naval movement makes it a little more flexible.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
Si non potes reperire Berolini in tabula, ludens essetis non WIF.
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
teobius wrote:
Option 16: dynamic naval movement makes it a little more flexible.


True. But that's in RAW8 though, not RAW7.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matteo
Italy
Rome
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. The question was about RAW8, though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
Si non potes reperire Berolini in tabula, ludens essetis non WIF.
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
teobius wrote:
Yes. The question was about RAW8, though.


Ohhhhhhhhhh! I saw "Row 8" and didn't know what that meant and ignored it!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.